NSE 1 — The Threat Landscape    


NSE 1 is the entry level designation of the Fortinet Network Security Expert (NSE) program. It is intended to provide a basic understanding of the threat landscape facing networks today.

NSE 1 is available for anyone wishing to learn about the threat landscape and network security.  It also provides the foundation for learning about the Fortinet solutions in NSE 2.  Fortinet sales and pre-sales associates and Fortinet Partner sales and pre-sales associates, are required to complete this step in order to progress to the next level of the program.

  • Module 1: The Bad Actors
  • Module 2: CIO Perspectives
  • Module 3: CISO Perspectives
  • Module 4: CFO Perspectives
  • Module 5: Personal Security Awareness

NSE 1 includes study materials and assessments for each module which can be found on the Fortinet NSE Institute (NSEI), including:

  • Current FortiGuard Labs Threat Landscape Report
  • Threat Landscape Video
  • Assessment exams

Program Requirements

  • Completion of all NSE 1 training modules    
  • Passing each module exam    

Who Should Attempt NSE 1?

Sales and support personnel who need a primer on the threat landscape and network security, Fortinet customers, or anyone interested in learning about network security topics. 

Designation Duration

NSE 1 is part of the NSE Associate designation. Candidates must pass NSE 1, NSE 2, and NSE 3 to become a Fortinet NSE Associate. The NSE 1 requirement is valid for 2 years. You can renew your NSE 1 requirement by taking the current NSE 1 course in the NSE Institute.

How to Enroll in NSE 1 Certification Training

Use the following link to take the NSE 1 quizzes after having completed all courses: NSE 1