The Threat Landscape

Course Description

NSE 1 is the entry-level designation of the Fortinet Network Security Expert (NSE) program. It is intended to provide a basic understanding of today’s threat landscape.

NSE 1 is available to anyone who wants to learn about the threat landscape and network security. It also provides a foundation for learning about Fortinet solutions in NSE 2. Fortinet sales associates, pre-sales associates, and associates of Fortinet partners are required to complete NSE1 to progress to the next level of the program.     


  1. The Bad Actors
  2. CIO Perspectives
  3. CISO Perspectives
  4. CFO Perspectives
  5. Personal Security Awareness 
  6. Key Cybersecurity Terms – Attack Surface


After completing NSE 1, candidates will have a general understanding of the following:

  • Who is behind these attacks
  • The motives of the attackers
  • How some attacks are carried out
  • How attacks impact C-level executives
  • Key strategies to remain safe on the Internet
  • Key cybersecurity terms

Who Should Attend

NSE 1 is open to anyone who wants to learn about the threat landscape and network security.

All Fortinet employees are encouraged to obtain NSE 1 certification as well NSE 2 and NSE 3 certification.


A basic understanding of computer networks in medium-to-large businesses.

System Requirements

  • A high-speed Internet connection
  • An up-to-date web browser
  • Speakers or headphones
  • One of the following:
    • HTML 5 support
    • An up-to-date Flash runtime environment

Wired Ethernet connection (not Wi-Fi) recommended. Firewalls including Windows Firewall or FortiClient must allow connections with the online labs.


Candidates must complete all lessons in NSE 1 to obtain NSE 1 certification.

NSE 1 certification is valid for two years from the date of completion.