Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Qu’est-ce que la sécurité réseau ? Types, solutions et dispositifs

La sécurité réseau protège votre surface d’attaque dans son intégralité

En savoir plus

Magic Quadrant 2020 de Gartner dédié aux infrastructures WAN Edge
Fabric Solution Network Security

Les tenants et aboutissants de la sécurité réseau

La sécurité réseau englobe les technologies, processus et règles utilisées pour défendre tous les types de réseaux, le trafic réseau et les ressources du réseau contre les cyberattaques, les accès prohibés et les pertes de données. Toutes les entreprises, des petites aux grandes entreprises et jusqu’aux fournisseurs de services, quel que soit leur secteur d’activité, exigent une sécurité réseau capable de protéger les ressources et infrastructures sensibles dans un contexte de surface d’attaque en expansion.

La sécurité réseau doit protéger les différents edges du réseau, mais également son périmètre interne, grâce à une approche de sécurité en profondeur. Les vulnérabilités sont omniprésentes : au sein des équipements et des applications, et à l’échelle des données et des utilisateurs. Pour faire face à une multiplicité de menaces, les entreprises peuvent faire appel aux centaines d’outils de sécurité réseau du marché, dont l’objectif est de maîtriser des menaces et exploits spécifiques, ou contribuer à la mise en conformité réglementaire. Les entreprises doivent donner la priorité aux solutions de sécurité réseau qui protègent contre cette multitude de menaces, mais aussi privilégier une approche de plateforme de protection étroitement intégrée et automatisée.

Qu’est-ce que la sécurité réseau ? | Fortinet

Découvrez l’offre de sécurité réseau la plus étoffée, adaptée à de nombreux cas d’utilisation et capable d’apporter la visibilité, les performances et la simplicité que les entreprises appellent de leurs vœux.

Voir la vidéo

L’importance de la sécurité réseau

Le changement est une constante au sein des réseaux. Des DDoS aux ransomware, la fréquence, le volume et la sophistication des cyberattaques ne semblent guère fléchir. Toutes les entreprises ont besoin d’une sécurité réseau : une perturbation, même minime, sur l’infrastructure réseau, à l’image d’un court temps d’indisponibilité ou d’une baisse des performances de service, peut peser sur la réputation d’une entreprise, sa rentabilité, voire sa pérennité. Les cyberattaques dévastatrices, généralement initiées par une intrusion que les outils de sécurité en place n’ont pas su prévenir, peuvent aboutir à de lourdes pénalités financières pour des entreprises, voire un arrêt de leur activité.

 

Les types de solutions, de dispositifs et d’outils de sécurité réseau

Le pare-feu de nouvelle génération est la clé de voûte de la sécurité réseau. Mais une protection performante du réseau exige d’autres technologies. Une sécurité réseau efficace exige une approche holistique qui va intégrer le pare-feu avec d’autres fonctionnalités essentielles de sécurité. La protection intégrale de la surface d’attaque d’une entreprise exige une sécurité en profondeur, élaborée à partir de solutions de sécurité actives sur l’ensemble du réseau et capables d’interagir entre elles au sein d’un environnement de sécurité intégré et collaboratif.

Pare-feu

Les pare-feux traditionnels existent depuis des décennies et sont utilisés par la majorité des entreprises. Si l’univers des menaces a évolué, il en est de même pour les technologies de pare-feu. Un pare-feu de nouvelle génération va au-delà de l’inspection des protocoles/ports et des techniques de neutralisation qu’offre le pare-feu traditionnel, pour s’enrichir de fonctions d’inspection des applications, de prévention des intrusions mais aussi de veille sur les menaces fournie par une source tierce.

Tous les pare-feux, traditionnels et NGFW, utilisent un filtrage statique et dynamique pour valider la sécurité des connexions entre les réseaux, Internet et le pare-feu. Ces deux profils de pare-feu sont capables d’assurer la translation des adresses du réseau et des ports dans une optique de mapping des IP. Les pare-feux NGFW peuvent également filtrer les paquets compte tenu des applications, à l’aide de listes blanches et de systèmes de prévention d’intrusion (IPS) basés sur des signatures. Ceci permet de discriminer entre les applications sans risques et celles potentiellement malveillantes. Contrairement aux pare-feux traditionnels, les NGFW neutralisent les malware qui souhaitent s’immiscer au sein d’un réseau, ce qui constitue un avantage majeur sur les cybercriminels.

Le pare-feu NGFW FortiGate

Protection du WAN et des sites distants

Nombre d’entreprises disposent de sites distants et de collaborateurs disséminés, et cette tendance au travail à distance a été accélérée par la pandémie mondiale de la COVID-19. La sécurité réseau doit être une priorité pour les sites et travailleurs à distance. La sécurité réseau des sites distants consiste à sécuriser le trafic internet entre les sites distants, les environnements corporate (siège social notamment), les data centers et les télétravailleurs. Le volume de données échangées entre ces différents lieux est généralement important. L’adoption rapide des applications cloud comme G Suite, Microsoft 365 et autres outils SaaS (Software-as-a-Service) implique une connexion internet sécurisée entre les utilisateurs disséminés, pour pérenniser la productivité des entreprises.

Les technologies WAN (wide-area network) traditionnelles, à l’image du MPLS (multiprotocol label switching) sont aujourd’hui devenues trop lentes vis-à-vis du volume et de la rapidité des connexions internet actuelles. C’est la raison pour laquelle nombre d‘entreprises s’orientent vers des solutions évoluées, à l’instar des réseaux SD-WAN (software-defined wide-area networking) pour élaborer et déployer une sécurité réseau fournie à l’intention des multiples sites distants présents dans le monde. Des nouveaux frameworks de connectivité, comme le SASE (secure access service edge) associent la connectivité flexible du SD-WAN avec des méthodes de sécurité comme les services managés de pare-feu (FWaaS - Firewall-as-a-Service) ou l’accès zero-trust (contrôle des accès avec vérification systématique).

Explorer Fortinet SD-WAN | En savoir davantage sur le SD-Branch

Système de prévention d‘intrusion (IPS) intégré

Un système de prévention des intrusions (IPS) identifie les activités suspectes et les empêche de s’en prendre aux réseaux informatiques. Les technologies IPS surveillent ces activités, enregistrent leurs informations et alertent les administrateurs réseau lorsque nécessaire.  L’IPS déploie des mesures préventives, comme configurer les autres outils de sécurité réseau pour prévenir les attaques potentielles, ou affiner les règles de sécurité corporate pour neutraliser tout comportement dangereux de la part de collaborateurs ou d’invités. Les outils IPS sont des composantes cruciales pour une sécurité réseau intégrale. De plus en plus, ils sont intégrés aux pare-feux réseau et non plus exploités en tant que plateforme autonome de sécurité.

En savoir davantage sur l’IPS de FortiGate

Passerelle de sécurité web

Une passerelle de sécurité web (Secure Web Gateway ou SWG), comme l’indique son nom, est un point de contrôle qui empêche le trafic prohibé de pénétrer sur le réseau d’une entreprise. Cette passerelle de sécurité web se positionne entre les données entrantes sur le réseau et celles qui en sortent, pour constituer une barrière contre le trafic malveillant ciblant les ressources du réseau. Certaines passerelles plus sophistiquées vont jusqu’à prévenir l’exfiltration de données sensibles à partir du réseau d’une entreprise. Elles deviennent alors d’autant plus essentielles à la sécurité globale du réseau, face à des cybercriminels qui plus sont créatifs et qui utilisent de nouvelles techniques pour mener leurs exactions.

Explorer FortiGate Secure Web Gateway (SWG)

Inspection des flux SSL

L’inspection du trafic SSL est essentielle aux infrastructures de sécurité réseau. Cette fonction intercepte et déchiffre le trafic associé à des sites web HTTPS pour identifier les contenus malveillants. Les entreprises utilisent souvent des certificats SSL sur leurs sites web pour sécuriser les connexions. Le SSL présente néanmoins un inconvénient, puisque le chiffrement SSL est utilisé par les cybercriminels pour dissimuler leur malware. C’est la raison pour laquelle toute stratégie de sécurité réseau doit faire de l’inspection SSL une fonctionnalité essentielle.

Plus d’informations sur l’inspection SSL de FortiGate

Optimisation des applications

Le SD-WAN offre une connectivité rapide, une maîtrise des coûts, ainsi que des performances optimales pour les applications SaaS et les services voix et vidéo. Mais cette technologie présente également des carences, notamment sur le terrain de la sécurité. Le SD-WAN doit pouvoir détecter les menaces et bénéficier d’une veille sur celles-ci pour répondre à un autre besoin en sécurité : l’optimisation applicative. L’optimisation applicative capitalise sur différentes techniques pour améliorer les performances du réseau, de manière sécurisée. Le monitoring des capacités de bande passante, la conception d’applications et la maîtrise de la latence réseau font parti de ces techniques.

En savoir davantage sur l’optimisation applicative qu’offre Secure SD-WAN

Hub on-ramp vers le cloud

Une connectivité transparente vers le cloud est essentielle, et d’ici la fin 2020, plus de 80 % de tous les workloads d’entreprise seront migrés dans le cloud. Ainsi, la sécurité réseau doit intégrer les hubs on-ramp vers le cloud. Elle doit optimiser la connectivité cloud en favorisant une adoption rapide et sécurisée du cloud et des connexions vers les applications SaaS et les infrastructures IaaS (Infrastructure-as-a-Service).

En savoir plus sur la sécurité des hubs on-ramps vers le cloud

VPN

Les réseaux privés virtuels (VPN) capitalisent sur des connexions virtualisées pour définir un réseau privé qui sécurise la connectivité des endpoints à Internet et déjoue toute tentative de détournement de données sensibles. Un VPN route le trafic d’un endpoint via un serveur privé pour que ce flux qui transite via Internet ne soit pas identifiable comme provenant du terminal. Les VPN chiffrés et de haute performance accélèrent l’accès au cloud, améliorent et sécurisent l’expérience des télétravailleurs et permettent aux entreprises de déployer des règles de sécurité et un contrôle d’accès pertinents, pour l’ensemble des utilisateurs corporate, des applications et des dispositifs.

Découvrir le VPN de FortiGate

Périmètre de sécurité

Le périmètre de sécurité évolue, à l’instar de tous les autres aspects de la sécurité réseau à l’heure actuelle. Traditionnellement, le périmètre réseau fait référence à une infrastructure edge qui interconnecte le réseau corporate à l’internet public, avec sécurisation des informations entrantes et sortantes. Les pare-feux NGFW font parti de cette infrastructure edge. Une sécurité robuste en périphérie de réseau doit intégrer des capacités évoluées de contrôle applicatif, de monitoring et de neutralisation des contenus malveillants et de gestion du trafic.

Découvrir la sécurité FortiGate dédiée à la périphérie des réseaux

Applications hyperscale

Le volume des données d’entreprise progresse, et ces données sont véhiculées toujours plus rapidement vers et entre des sites disséminés à l’échelle mondiale. L’avènement de technologies telles que la 5G et le besoin d’acheminer des ensembles volumineux de données par les entreprises, notamment celles opérant dans les domaines du e-commerce, des transports, de l’énergie et de la production industrielle, ont créé le besoin pour une sécurité particulièrement évolutive : une sécurité hyperscale. Ce contexte exige des fonctions de sécurité appropriées

Trop souvent, les entreprises se rendent compte que leurs outils de sécurité peinent à tenir le rythme de l’hyperscale. Elles sont tentées de prioriser l’expérience utilisateur à la sécurité, et cet arbitrage n’est pas sans dangers. Les applications hyperscale doivent évoluer dans un contexte différent de celui des outils de sécurité réseau traditionnels. Elles requièrent des pare-feux réseau évolutifs et d’autres solutions capables de traiter des volumes colossaux de données acheminées à une vitesse ultra-rapide.

En savoir plus sur la sécurité hyperscale

Automatisation du réseau

L’automatisation du réseau fait appel à des outils logiciels réseau et de sécurité pour optimiser l’efficacité et les fonctionnalités sur le réseau. En s’appliquant à de multiples domaines de l’infrastructure réseau corporate, l’automatisation soulage les équipes humaines et maîtrise le risque d’erreurs humaines à l’origine de nombre d’incidents de sécurité et des dysfonctionnements du réseau. L’automatisation du réseau se substitue aux processus manuels pour mettre à jour les configurations et réaliser d’innombrables autres fonctions. Elle contribue ainsi à simplifier la gestion du réseau et renforcer la sécurité du réseau.

En savoir plus sur l’automatisation de la sécurité

Conformité

La mise en conformité devient impérative compte tenu de la réglementation en matière de confidentialité de données et des normes en vigueur dans les secteurs d’activité ou sur des régions. La gestion de la conformité est historiquement fastidieuse car elle implique des processus manuels mobilisant des équipes importantes et prend des semaines, voire des mois, pour recueillir les données pertinentes et les analyser.

Les équipes de sécurité peuvent simplifier et améliorer les audits de conformité en automatisant les tâches de suivi et de reporting, et en intégrant ces techniques au sein des opérations de sécurité réseau. Les outils de monitoring de la conformité peuvent également évaluer les environnements réseau par rapport aux bonnes pratiques et recommandations du secteur, pour ainsi simplifier l’évaluation des risques de conformité.

Découvrir comment automatiser la conformité

La sécurité réseau pour les entreprises

La sécurité réseau des grandes entreprises

La sécurité du réseau des entreprises d’envergure et multisite exige une approche intégrée, automatisée et orientée cloud, qui met l’accent sur le réseau corporate, ses ressources et ses données, mais aussi sur la pérennité de la connectivité et l’optimisation de l’expérience utilisateur des collaborateurs et des clients. La sécurité des réseaux corporate ne se contente pas de tenir les assaillants à l’écart. Pour choisir les solutions de sécurité réseau les plus pertinentes, il s’agit de prendre également en compte les systèmes existants, la gestion des patchs, les alertes de sécurité trop nombreuses et la pénurie de compétences en sécurité réseau. A minima, une stratégie de sécurité réseau doit intégrer aussi bien des outils matériels et logiciels. Elle doit s’appliquer aux environnements sur site, hybride et multi-cloud et optimiser la protection contre toutes les menaces. Elle doit également piloter ce qui entre et sort du réseau et gérer les utilisateurs ayant accès aux ressources du réseau.

 

Sécurité réseau pour les petites entreprises | Fortinet

Les assaillants le savent : la sécurité réseau des petites entreprises est souvent fragile, ce qui en fait une cible de choix, pour les ransomware notamment. Pour ces entreprises, il s’agit de protéger leurs données et ressources en sélectionnant les outils les plus appropriés : réseau Wi-Fi sécurisés, réseaux privés virtuels (VPN), authentification multifactorielle et pare-feu pour les sites distants. Une gestion centralisée et fournie depuis le cloud simplifie l’opérationnel grâce à des règles et politiques pertinentes. Elle permet aux petites entreprises de déployer de nouvelles technologies tout en se tenant à l’abri des attaques.

 

Identifier le bon système de sécurité réseau

Solutions de sécurité réseau haute performance

Performances renforcées

« Comment accélérer les choses ? » Cette question, récurrente depuis les premiers jours de l’innovation digitale, s’applique également à la sécurité réseau, aujourd’hui comme demain. La rapidité est le moteur de la révolution digitale et de la transformation des activités métier. Elle favorise l’efficacité, les accès sécurisés, le développement applicatif, la productivité, les performances commerciales et un retour sur investissement optimal. Des performances optimales s’imposent donc pour les outils de sécurité réseau. Ceci est d’autant plus vrai à l’heure des environnements hyperscale et hyperconnectés, face auxquels les systèmes de sécurité réseau connaissent leurs limites, ne peuvent plus protéger la connectivité et ne répondent plus aux attentes en matière d’expérience utilisateur. Les performances de sécurité sont un critère essentiel pour les entreprises qui veulent tirer parti du numérique. Un ralentissement, même minime peut avoir de lourdes conséquences dans un contexte hyperscale.

Une veille sur les menaces pour sécuriser le réseau

Veille sur les menaces

Les attaques sophistiquées et ciblées représentent un vrai défi à la sécurité des réseaux. Les solutions de sécurité réseau les plus pertinentes sont adossées à une veille en temps-réel sur les menaces qui prévient les exploits, les vulnérabilités, ainsi que les attaques connues ou zero-day.

visibilité et sécurité des réseaux

Visibilité

La visibilité constitue l’un des principaux défis de la sécurité réseau : il est impossible de gérer ce qui est invisible. Alors que les infrastructures numérique couvrent toujours davantage de sites et que le cloud hybride est devenu une réalité pour les entreprises, le potentiel de zones d’ombre est bien plus important. D’où l’intérêt d’opter pour une solution qui offre le meilleur en matière de visibilité et de contrôle sur les environnements réseau.

Simplicité et sécurité réseau

Simplicité :

La complexité du réseau n’est pas qu’un défi en matière d’administration. C’est aussi un vrai risque de sécurité. Les réseaux complexes disposent de davantage de passerelles d’entrée potentielle. Leur surface d’attaque s’étend alors que les infrastructures distribuées et de macro-tendances telles que le BYOD et l’internet des objets démultiplient les connexions au réseau d’entreprise. Pour les entreprises, une gestion centralisée s’impose, à partir d’une console d’administration unique, même au sein des environnements multisite qui hébergent différents outils. La simplicité, en matière d’infrastructure, d’outils et de gestion, favorise un réseau plus sécurisé globalement.

What Is Network Security? Types, Solutions and Devices

Network security protects your entire attack surface

Learn More

Gartner 2020 Magic Quadrant for WAN Edge Infrastructure
Fabric Solution Network Security

Network Security, Defined and Explained

Network security refers to the technologies, processes, and policies used to defend any network, network traffic, and network-accessible assets from cyberattacks, unauthorized access, and data loss. Every organization, from small businesses to the largest enterprises and service providers, in every industry requires network security to protect critical assets and infrastructure from a rapidly expanding attack surface.

Network security must protect at the many edges of the network and also inside the network, with a layered approach. Vulnerabilities exist everywhere, from devices and data paths to applications and users. Because organizations encounter so many potential threats, there are also hundreds of network security management tools intended to address individual threats or exploits or assist with other mission-critical infrastructure needs, such as continuous compliance. Organizations should prioritize network security solutions that cover the multitude of threats, using a platform approach that prioritizes integration and automation.
 

Fortinet Security-Driven Networking

Fortinet’s Security-driven Networking strategy tightly integrates an organization’s network infrastructure and security architecture, enabling the network to scale and change without compromising security. This next generation approach is essential for effectively defending today’s highly dynamic environments – not only by providing consistent enforcement across today’s highly flexible perimeters, but by also weaving security deep into the network itself.

Watch the video

The Importance of Network Security

Today’s threat environment is always changing, and from distributed denial-of-service (DDoS) attacks to ransomware, the frequency, volume, and sophistication of cyberattacks show no signs of slowing down. All organizations require network security because even a minor disruption to network infrastructure—such as a minute of downtime, or a lag in service performance—can cause damage to an organization’s reputation, bottom line, or even long-term viability. Catastrophic cyberattacks, which often begin as seemingly benign intrusions that inadequate network security tools failed to catch, can force organizations to pay crippling fines and even close their doors for good.

 

Types of Network Security Solutions, Devices, and Tools

A very critical component of network security is a next-generation firewall (NGFW). But to truly protect the network, other technologies are required, and effective network security requires a holistic approach that integrates the firewall with other important capabilities. Essentially, to protect an organization’s entire attack surface, a layered approach with security solutions for all areas of the network must work together as an integrated and collaborative security fabric.

Firewalls

Traditional firewalls have been around for decades, and are a standard security product in use by a majority of organizations. But as the threat landscape has evolved, so too has firewall technology. A next-generation firewall (NGFW) moves beyond a traditional firewall’s port/protocol inspection and blocking techniques to add application-level inspection, intrusion prevention, and intelligence from sources outside the firewall.

Both traditional firewalls and NGFW employ packet filtering (both static and dynamic) to ensure connections among the network, the internet, and the firewall itself are secure, and both can translate network and port addresses for IP mapping. NGFWs, however, can filter packets based on applications, using whitelisting or signature-based intrusion prevention systems (IPS) to distinguish between applications that are benign (i.e., safe) and applications that are potentially malicious. There are many other differences, but one major advance between traditional firewalls and NGFWs is the ability to block malware from entering a network—a major advantage over cyberattackers that older-generation firewalls cannot deliver.

Explore FortiGate NGFW

WAN and Branch Protection

The vast majority of organizations today have offices or individual workers based all over the world, and remote work, or telework, is a trend recently accelerated by the global COVID-19 pandemic. But network security can’t be an afterthought in these distributed locations, sometimes described as branch offices. Branch office network security means keeping internet traffic safe among branches, corporate resources such as headquarters or data center, and remote employees. There is a lot of data in transit among these distributed locations, all the time. The rapid embrace of cloud-based applications, such as G Suite, Office 365, and other popular Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) tools, means a consistent, secure internet connection among users at various locations is vital to keeping an organization productive.

Traditional wide-area network (WAN) technologies such as multiprotocol label switching (MPLS) are now too slow and cumbersome to keep up with the volume and speed of internet connections needed today. That’s why many organizations are turning to advanced solutions such as software-defined wide-area networking (SD-WAN) as part of fully realized network security delivered all over the world and across many distributed (branch) locations. Emerging business connectivity frameworks such as secure access service edge (SASE) combine flexible connectivity provided by SD-WAN with a number of different security needs, from Firewall-as-a-Service (FWaaS) to zero-trust access principles.

Explore Fortinet SD-WAN | Learn More About SD-Branch

Intrusion Prevention System (IPS)

An intrusion prevention system (IPS) identifies suspicious activities and detects or prevents them from attacking computer networks. IPS security technologies monitor for these activities, capture information about them, and report them to network administrators.  IPS will initiate preventative steps such as configuring other network security tools to prevent possible attacks, and adjusting corporate security policies to block employees or guests on the network from engaging in harmful behavior. IPS tools are a critical component of full network security, and increasingly are being integrated into network firewalls instead of their traditional place as a standalone product in the network security infrastructure.

Learn More About FortiGate IPS

Secure Web Gateway

Much like its name suggests, a secure web gateway is a checkpoint that prevents unauthorized traffic from entering the organization’s network. A secure web gateway sits between all data incoming to the network and outgoing from the network, and provides a barrier against malicious traffic from accessing key resources on the network. More sophisticated secure web gateways can also prevent exfiltration of sensitive information from the organization’s network. Secure web gateways have become more critical to overall network security, especially as cyberattackers grow more creative and sophisticated with the use of spoofed websites and other now-standard tools of their trade.

Explore FortiGate Secure Web Gateway

SSL Inspection

SSL inspection is a critical component of network security infrastructure. SSL, or secure sockets layer, inspection intercepts and decrypts all traffic transmitted through an HTTPS website, identifying malicious content. Organizations often use SSL certificates on their websites to create safe connections. SSL, however, also has a downside—SSL encryption is often today used by attackers to hide malware. Network security solutions therefore must include SSL inspection as a core capability.

Learn More About FortiGate SSL Inspection

Application Optimization

SD-WAN offers faster connectivity, cost savings, and performance for SaaS applications as well as digital voice and video services. But SD-WAN has its own shortcomings—especially when it comes to security. Accurate detection and intelligence business policies employed with SD-WAN are important to another network security need: application optimization. Application optimization uses several techniques to boost the overall functionality of the network, and do it securely. Bandwidth capacity monitoring, application coding, and addressing network latency are some of the relevant techniques.

Learn More About Application Optimization with Secure SD-WAN

Cloud On-ramp

Crucial to modern network security is seamless cloud connectivity, and by the end of 2020, more than 80 percent of all enterprise workloads will run in the cloud. Therefore, network security must include cloud on-ramp considerations, and the ability to optimize cloud connectivity by enabling fast, secure cloud adoption and connections to SaaS and Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) applications.

Learn More About Securing the Cloud On-Ramp

VPN

Virtual private networks (VPNs) use virtual connections to create a private network, keeping any endpoint connected to the internet safe, and protecting sensitive information from unauthorized viewing or interception. A VPN routes an endpoint device’s connection through a private server so that when data reaches the internet, it’s not viewable as coming from the device. High-performance crypto VPNs accelerate cloud on-ramp, deliver a better and more secure experience for remote workers, and allow all organizations to maintain a consistent security policy and appropriate access control, regardless of location, for all corporate users, applications, and devices.

Explore FortiGate VPN

Perimeter Security

Perimeter security is evolving, like every other aspect of network security in the modern age. Traditionally, the network perimeter refers to edge infrastructure that sits between the corporate network and the public internet, creating safe controls for inbound and outbound information passing among them. NGFWs are a typical part of this edge infrastructure. Robust perimeter security must include capabilities such as application awareness and control, monitoring and blocking malicious content, and overall traffic management.

Learn More About FortiGate's Perimeter Security

Hyperscale Applications

Organizations are utilizing more data, transmitted at faster speeds among globally distributed sites, than ever before. The advent of technologies such as 5G and the needs of organizations transmitting massive datasets, such as those found in high-velocity e-retail, transportation, energy, and manufacturing, have created the need for hyperscale security. All of these developments require proper security controls.

Too often, organizations find their security tools can’t keep up at the pace hyperscale requires, and forgo security safeguards in favor of an optimal user experience—a dangerous trade-off. Hyperscale applications require a different mindset than traditional network security tools. They need properly scaling network firewalls and other solutions to process unprecedented volumes of data at unprecedented speeds.

Learn More About Engineering for Hyperscale

Network Automation

Network automation uses network and security software tools to maximize the efficiency and functionality of the network. Automation is employed in many aspects of a corporate IT infrastructure to alleviate human teams and greatly reduce the possibilities of human error, which continues to be a leading cause of network security issues and outages. Employing network automation to update configurations and perform countless other functions in place of cumbersome, manual processes helps reduce the overall complexity of network management and deliver stronger network security as a result.

Learn More About Automating Your Security

Compliance

Compliance management isn’t optional in this age of data privacy regulations and other compliance controls put in place by various industries, governments, and regions. Compliance management is also traditionally quite cumbersome, involving long, team-led manual processes and weeks and months of work to obtain, analyze, and report on data.

Network and security teams can overcome complicated and exhausting audit processes—which are often ineffective anyway—by automating compliance tracking and reporting and integrating those techniques in with other network security operations. Robust tracking and compliance monitoring tools can also evaluate network environments against industry benchmarks and best practices, ensuring that measurement of compliance risks is a simple process.

Learn How to Automate Compliance

Network Security for Businesses

Enterprise Network Security

Enterprise network security, especially for large and distributed enterprises, requires an integrated, automated, cloud-ready approach that prioritizes protection of the corporate network and its assets and data, and preserving connectivity and an excellent user experience for employees and customers. Enterprise network security doesn’t only mean keeping the bad guys at bay, either; legacy systems, patch management, alert fatigue, and a shortage of skilled cyber and network security workers all factor in to selecting the right network security solutions. At minimum, an enterprise network security strategy incorporates both hardware and software tools; is inclusive of on-premises, hybrid, and cloud access models; maximizes protection against the widest variety of threats; governs what enters and exits the corporate network; and manages who has access to what on the network.

 

Small Business Network Security

Attackers frequently target small businesses using techniques such as ransomware, fully aware that small business network security is often woefully inadequate. It’s important for all small businesses to select the right tools that will help safeguard data and company assets, including secure Wi-Fi, virtual private networks (VPNs), multi-factor authentication, and branch office firewalls. Cloud-based, centralized management also simplifies ongoing operations with useful rules and policies so small businesses can quickly employ new technology while keeping the business safe.

 

Finding a Network Security System

high performance network security solution

High Performance

“How can we do this even faster?” is a question that’s been around since the dawn of digital innovation, and pertains to network security then, now, and in the future. Speed is the driving force behind digital transformation and how it transforms business, enabling efficiency, access, application development, productivity, revenue, and return on investment (ROI). That’s why high performance is a critical attribute of network security tools—especially in the era of hyperscale and hyperconnected environments, where traditional network security systems will no longer be able to keep pace, no longer be able to deliver secure connectivity, and no longer be able to satisfy user experience demands. Security performance is the gold standard for organizations operating at the cutting edge of digital innovation; even a millisecond slowdown can have enormous negative consequences at this scale.

threat intelligence for network security

Threat Intelligence

Sophisticated, targeted attacks represent a big challenge to securing networks. The right network security solutions will be able to pull in up-to-date threat intelligence to safeguard against exploits, vulnerabilities, zero-days, and both known and previously unknown attacks.

visibility for network security

Visibility

Visibility is one of the single biggest challenges in network security; you can’t control and manage what you can’t see. And as digital infrastructure becomes more distributed and organizations embrace combinations of on-premises and cloud-based infrastructure, there is much more potential for network security blind spots. Choose a solution that can promise the best possible visibility and control of the network environment.

simplicity for network security

Simplicity

Network complexity isn’t just a challenge to manage, it’s also a security risk. Complex networks have more entryways and more opportunities to be affected—the entire attack surface expands thanks to distributed infrastructure and macro-trends such as bring your own device (BYOD) and Internet of Things (IoT) that create many millions of more connections to business networks every year. Businesses should insist on centralized network management, using a single-pane-of-glass management console, even for highly distributed environments with many different tools employed. Simplicity—in infrastructure, in tools, in management—makes for a safer, more secure network overall.