Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

在当今数字加速和混合劳动力的世界中,包括员工在内的许多资源都位于传统基础设施之外运营。组织和员工面临的挑战是安全不再局限于物理位置。 “围墙城市”方法不再有效。我们所熟知的传统网络边界现在分布在多样化的网络基础设施中,包括 边缘计算设备、远程机器及其用户、云技术和 物联网 (IoT)  设备。

Gartner 近期的一份报告 指出,由于疫情导致的远程办公,新的 攻击表面 已经出现。远程工作人员、边缘计算设备、虚拟网络、IoT 技术和数字化转型的其他方面需要灵活、可扩展的安全策略。 解决该问题的答案是一个广泛、集成和自动化的网络安全网格平台。 

那么什么是网络安全网格?

2022 年网络安全网格:定义

Gartner 将网络安全网格定义为“一种现代的安全架构概念方法,以支持分布式企业在尤为需要的地方部署和扩展安全性。” 

网络安全网格架构

网络安全网格架构 (CSMA) 倡导各个安全产品之间的互操作性和协调性,从而形成更集成的安全策略。它通过保护单个端点来增强组织的安全性,而不是试图用单一技术保护所有资产。 CSMA 旨在帮助组织从过时的独立系统转向集成的方法。如何实现?

  1. CSMA 为独立的安全服务创建了一种通信和集成方式,从而为整个网络的安全创造更加动态的环境。
  2. CSMA 可提升您组织安全态势的敏捷性。随着数字化程度的提高,CSMA 解决方案提供了更具可扩展性和灵活性的安全响应。
  3. CSMA 通过促进分析和集成安全工具之间的协作来改善您的防御态势。这充分增强了您对攻击和漏洞的响应。
  4. CSMA 创造了一个可以快速部署和方便维护网络安全技术的环境。它尽可能地减少了对暂时需要的特定情况安全解决方案的投资,从而释放您的财务、技术或人员相关资产,并将其用于更关键的运营。

作为托管 IT 服务的一部分,网络安全专业人员提供网络安全策略战略的咨询、实施和管理。Fortinet Security Fabric 安全架构和托管 IT 服务等解决方案可以简化网络安全网格的采用,使启动流程无缝且高效。

企业对网络安全网格的需求

据《财富商业洞察》报道,至 2029 年,全球网络安全市场预计将增长到超过 3,750 亿美元。企业资源越来越有可能位于组织的本地安全边界之外,增长趋势表明,各种规模的企业都需要足够敏捷,以便在不影响 网络安全的前提下大规模快速扩张。

随着组织超越物理位置的发展,每个节点都将成为潜在的接入端,可被利用来破坏整个网络。黑客越来越多地使用这些易受攻击的接入端来部署 网络攻击, 例如 勒索软件 和其他形式的 恶意软件。此类攻击造成的损失估计约达 每年 6 万亿美元,并且还在不断增加

网络安全网格是在企业级组织中应对这些威胁的尤为实用和适应性强的方法。它将安全性扩展到整个架构,从而可以使用一套单一的技术集保护所有系统和接入端。此外,由于它由最新的威胁情报驱动,网络安全网格可以随着新威胁的出现而演变。

除了安全外,企业还需要网络安全网格来促进核心业务计划,包括:

  1. 使用第三方应用程序和服务。 加强组织核心业务的一部分是集成第三方应用程序和服务。通过这种方式,网络安全网格的分布式特性可支持公司增加市场份额,并更快地吸引消费者,同时尽可能地减少对安全性的投资。 
  2. 建立新的分销渠道。 第三方合作伙伴关系通常会带来新的产品和服务分销渠道。部署单独的安全工具来保护支持新分销渠道所需的架构可能既昂贵又复杂。使用网络安全网格方法可以消除一些成本和复杂性。 
  3. 启动新计划。 敏捷的企业可能会看到启动新计划的机会,以补充其网络基础设施。这需要您通过网络安全网格获得一定的灵活性。

网络安全网格的应用

网络安全网格有诸多应用,从而提高组织的灵活性、适应性和整体更强的安全态势。例如,在 IT 开发中使用此策略可支持组织集中管理其安全策略。其结果是,他们将拥有一个可以同时应用于多个架构的模块化系统。这将支持敏捷性和可扩展性。

CSMA 还可通过与您的网络集成,将您的基础设施提升到全新的水平。这样一来,您就拥有了保护所有进出您网络的通信的工具,从而本质上使您的网络更安全。这允许您:

  1. 为未来做好准备。 您的组织可以通过选择促进集成的网络安全技术来应对未来的安全风险。例如,使用允许自定义和扩展的插件应用程序编程接口 (API) 和可扩展分析。
  2. 弥合差距。 使用当前和新兴的安全标准,您可以弥合因不同解决方案中的弱点和漏洞而导致的任何安全差距。
  3. 充分利用 CSMA 层。 确保充分利用 CSMA 的支持层,例如安全分析、身份结构、策略管理和集成控制面板。当它们组合成一整套解决方案时,便可以为您提供端到端、全面的安全套件。

网络安全网格的 4 层

采用网络安全网格策略具有显而易见的优势,尤其是在可扩展性、兼容性和互操作性方面。对于新开发项目,该策略改变了设计和构建网络基础设施的方法。对于现有网络,向新策略过渡可能意味着首先对基础设施进行重大调整,但其优势足以证明成本的合理性。 

CSMA 提供四个基础层,允许对现代集成和安全挑战做出灵活且适应性强的响应。

安全分析和情报

集中管理意味着可以一站式实时收集、整合和分析大量数据。这可以改善您的风险分析能力、威胁响应时间和攻击缓解能力。CSMA 结合了威胁情报资源中的数据和经验,提供改进的威胁分析并触发适当的响应。

分布式身份结构

该层提供自适应访问、分散身份管理、目录服务、权利管理和身份证明等功能。

综合政策和态势管理

CSMA 可将中央网络安全策略转化为每个安全工具的本地配置,确保 IT 团队能够更有效地识别合规风险和错误配置问题。 

综合控制面板

CSMA 提供对安全生态系统的清晰可见性,使安全团队能够更有效地检测安全事件 并部署适当的响应。 

采用网络安全网格时的关键考虑因素

网络安全网格方法具有如此多的优势,越来越多的组织采用这一策略的原因显而易见。那么,您为什么应该为您的组织考虑这种方法呢? 首先,请考虑以下统计数据:

  1. 漏洞。 在过去几年中, 网络钓鱼增加了 600% ,勒索软件攻击 每 11 秒发生一次。这暴露了当前 IT 系统易受攻击的现实。除了现有的漏洞外,还存在着 零日攻击的威胁,这是一种前所未知的攻击方法。2021 年在此方面打破了记录,共计  66 次零日攻击,是 2020 年的两倍多。网络安全网格方法有助于显著减少这些漏洞,并为组织的安全基础设施做好应对零日攻击的准备。 
  2. 成本。 仅勒索软件攻击的成本就可达到每年约  6 万亿美元,而网络犯罪攻击的成本正以 每年约 15% 的速度增长。数字化转型也会产生成本,尤其是在必须重新设计组织的基础设施或架构时。然而,利用网络安全网格可以减少代价高昂的攻击和公司停机时间,这远远超过了任何初始成本。
  3. 迁移。 为了满足客户和消费者的需求,公司正在加速转向云计算平台。然而,这也可能导致漏洞。网络安全网格通过为云计算环境提供灵活和可扩展的保护来支持迁移。

这些因素强调了采用网络安全网格的必要性,但还有一些其他因素使网络安全网格选项具有吸引力:

  1. 易于实施。 近年来,数字化正在呈指数级加速。这种增长速度可能使传统的安全模型无从适从。网络安全网格尤其适合使设计、部署和维护变得简单而高效。
  2. 实用性。 基于云的应用程序、分布式数据和不受控制的设备都使传统的安全策略和技术变得复杂。因此,网络安全网格策略是一种更实用的模型,用于处理位于传统网络边界之外的组织数字资产组件。
  3. 敏捷性。 网络安全网格方法的本质是,它使组织对安全和扩展的响应更加敏捷。公司可以相对轻松地添加或删除节点,从中央控制点监视和控制新位置,并且威胁响应和缓解可以更迅捷地减轻攻击。

数字化转型凸显网络安全网格的必要性

数字转型和创新的加速导致了大大小小组织的网络需求发生了翻天覆地的变化。跟上现有威胁的演变速度,并为零日威胁做好准备已经变得更加复杂和具有挑战性。因此,组织必须统一其保护工具,以便涵盖所有访问和端点。借助网络安全网格,可将安全策略应用于您环境的所有部分。

防火墙和网络控制工具可确保特定区域独立安全,不会对基础设施的其余部分构成威胁。网络安全控制可以通过云从单一控制点进行交付和管理。通过以这种方式集中控制,组织可以减少其 IT 人员支出,包括管理不同解决方案所需的工作站。此外,您可以使用单一的控制中心——由单人或一支小团队管理。

Fortinet 如何提供帮助?

Fortinet Security Fabric 安全架构 旨在管理整个数字攻击表面,同时通过消除安全漏洞和差距来降低风险。它使大部分网格自动化,降低复杂性,同时提高速度和效率。 Fortinet Security Fabric 安全架构提供安全驱动的网络、零信任访问和自适应云安全,帮助您的组织适应不断变化的数字环境。

常见问题解答

什么是网络安全网格?

Gartner 将网络安全网格定义为“一种现代的安全架构概念方法,以支持分布式企业在尤为需要的地方部署和扩展安全性。” 

Gartner 的网络安全网格是什么?

网络安全网格架构 (CSMA) 是 Gartner 提出的一种安全方法,作为一种架构概念,它倡导各个安全产品之间的互操作性和协调性,从而形成更集成的安全策略。

如何实施网络安全网格?

实施网络安全网格涉及识别您的攻击表面,然后使用统一、集中和多方面的系统来保护您的所有数字资产。

Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

With the current trend of digital acceleration and hybrid workforces, many resources, including staff, are located and operating outside of what can be considered traditional network infrastructure. The big challenge now facing organizations and employees is the rate at which digital transformation is accelerating and increasing the risks and complexity of securing the expanded attack surface.

What we knew as the traditional network perimeter is now spread across a diverse network infrastructure, encompassing edge computing devices, remote machines and their users, cloud technologies, and Internet-of-Things (IoT) devices.

The Gartner® Top Strategic Technology Trends for 2022: Cybersecurity Mesh report states that new attack surfaces have opened up due to a pandemic-inspired shift to remote work. Remote staff members, edge computing devices, virtual networks, IoT technologies, and other facets of digital transformation demand flexible and scalable security strategies. The answer to this problem is a broad, integrated, and automated cybersecurity mesh architecture. 

So what is cybersecurity mesh?

Cybersecurity Mesh 2022: Definition

Gartner defines cybersecurity mesh architecture as  “a composable and scalable approach to extending security controls, even to widely distributed assets. Its flexibility is especially suitable for increasingly modular approaches consistent with hybrid multicloud architectures. CSMA enables a more composable, flexible and resilient security ecosystem. Rather than every security tool running in a silo, a cybersecurity mesh enables tools to interoperate through several supportive layers, such as consolidated policy management, security intelligence and identity fabric.”

Cybersecurity Mesh Architecture

Cybersecurity mesh architecture (CSMA) advocates interoperability and coordination between individual security products, resulting in a more integrated security policy. This bolsters the security of an organization by protecting individual endpoints, instead of attempting to protect all assets with a singular technology. CSMA is designed to help an organization move away from obsolete standalone systems and toward an integrated approach. How is this accomplished? According to Gartner:

  1. CSMA creates a means for individual security services to communicate and integrate, creating a more dynamic environment for security across the network.
  2. CSMA makes your organization’s security posture more agile. As increased digitization takes place, CSMA solutions offer a more scalable and flexible security response.
  3. CSMA improves your defensive posture by facilitating collaboration between analytical and integrated security tools. This greatly enhances your response to attacks and breaches.
  4. CSMA creates an environment in which cybersecurity technology can be rapidly deployed and conveniently maintained. It minimizes investments in situation-specific security solutions for which you may only have a temporary need, freeing up your assets, whether financial, technological, or personnel-related, for more critical operations.

Cybersecurity professionals offer consultation, implementation, and management of a cybersecurity mesh strategy as part of managed IT services. A solution such as Fortinet Security Fabric and Managed IT Services can streamline your adoption of cybersecurity mesh, making the onboarding process seamless and efficient.

Why Enterprises Need Cybersecurity Mesh

According to Fortune Business Insightes, the global cybersecurity market is projected to grow to over USD $375 Billion by 2029. Enterprise resources are more and more likely to be located outside of an organization’s localized security perimeter, and growth trends indicate that businesses of all sizes need to be agile enough to expand rapidly at scale without compromising network security.

As organizations grow beyond a physical location, each node becomes a potential access point that can be exploited to compromise the whole network. Hackers increasingly use these vulnerable access points to deploy cyberattacks such as ransomware and other forms of malware. Losses due to such attacks are estimated to be around $6 trillion per year and rising.

Cybersecurity mesh is the most practical and adaptable approach for dealing with these threats in an enterprise-level organization. It extends security across your entire architecture, making it possible to secure all systems and points of access with a single, unified set of technologies. Further, because it is driven by the most recent threat intelligence, a cybersecurity mesh can evolve as new threats emerge.

In addition to security, enterprises need cybersecurity mesh to facilitate core business initiatives, including:

  1. Using third-party apps and services. Part of strengthening the core of an organization’s business is integrating third-party applications and services. In this way, the distributed nature of cybersecurity mesh allows companies to increase market share and engage consumers more rapidly while minimizing their security investments. 
  2. Establishing new distribution channels. Third-party partnerships often lead to new channels for the distribution of products and services. Deploying individual security tools to protect the architecture needed to support new distribution channels can be costly and complicated. Using a cybersecurity mesh approach eliminates some of the cost and complexity. 
  3. Launching new initiatives. Agile businesses may see opportunities to launch new initiatives that involve additions to their network infrastructure. This requires the kind of flexibility you get with a cybersecurity mesh.

Applications of Cybersecurity Mesh

There are numerous applications of cybersecurity mesh, resulting in increased flexibility, adaptability, and an overall stronger security posture for an organization. For example, using this strategy in IT development enables an organization to centralize its security policy management. As a result, they have a modular system that can be applied to multiple architectures simultaneously. This supports both agility and scalability.

CSMA also provides an opportunity to take your security infrastructure to the next level by integrating it with your network. In this way, you have tools protecting all communications coming to and going from your networks, making your network inherently safer. This allows you to:

  1. Prepare for the future. Your organization can be positioned to respond to future security risks by selecting cybersecurity technologies that facilitate integration. For example, there are plug-in application programming interfaces (APIs) that allow customization and extensions, as well as extensible analytics.
  2. Close the gaps. Using current and emerging security standards, you can close any security gaps due to weaknesses and vulnerabilities in different solutions.
  3. Make the most of CSMA layers. Be sure to make the most of CSMA’s supportive layers, such as security analytics, identity fabric, policy management, and integrated dashboards. When combined into a single, overarching solution, these can give you an end-to-end, comprehensive security package.

The 4 Layers of Cybersecurity Mesh

Adopting a cybersecurity mesh strategy has distinct advantages, specifically scalability, composability, and interoperability. For new developments, this strategy changes the approach to designing and building the network infrastructure. For existing networks, evolving to a new strategy may mean significant adjustments to the infrastructure at first, but the benefits justify the cost. 

According to Gartner, CSMA provides four foundational layers that allow for an agile and adaptable response to modern integration and security challenges. 

1. Security Analytics and Intelligence

Centralized administration means that vast amounts of data can be collected, consolidated, and analyzed in real-time at a central location. This improves your risk analysis capabilities, threat response time, and mitigation of attacks. CSMA “combines the data and lessons from other security tools, and provides analyses of threats and triggers appropriate responses.”

2. Distributed Identity Fabric

This layer “provides capabilities such as directory services, adaptive access, decentralized identity management, identity proofing and entitlement management.”

3. Consolidated Policy and Posture Management

CSMA “can translate a central policy into the native configuration constructs of individual security tools or, as a more advanced alternative, provide dynamic runtime authorization services,” ensuring IT teams can more effectively identify compliance risks and misconfiguration issues. 

4. Consolidated Dashboards

CSMA “offers a composite view into the security ecosystem, enabling security teams to respond more quickly and more effectively to security events” to deploy the appropriate responses. 

Digital Security, everywhere you need it

How To Simplify Security With Cybersecurity Mesh Architecture

Download the Checklist

Key Considerations When Adopting Cybersecurity Mesh

With so many advantages to the cybersecurity mesh approach, it is clear to see why this strategy is being adopted by more and more organizations. So why should you consider this approach for your organization? First, consider the following statistics:

  1. Vulnerability. There has been a 600% increase in phishing schemes over the past couple of years, and ransomware attacks occur every 11 seconds. This exposes the reality that current IT systems are vulnerable. In addition to existing vulnerabilities, there is the threat of a zero-day attack, an attack by a method previously unknown. 2021 broke records for zero-day attacks, with 66 zero days, more than double those in 2020. The cybersecurity mesh approach helps to reduce these vulnerabilities significantly and prepare an organization’s security infrastructure for zero-day attacks. 
  2. Cost. The cost of ransomware attacks alone is about $6 trillion annually, and the cost of cybercrime attacks is on the rise at about 15% per year. Digital transformation incurs its own cost, too, especially if an organization’s infrastructure or architecture has to be redesigned. But the reduction in costly attacks and company downtime realized by leveraging cybersecurity mesh far outweighs any initial cost.
  3. Migration. Meeting the needs of clients and consumers has caused an accelerated shift to cloud computing platforms. However, it can also result in breaches. Cybersecurity mesh enables migration by providing flexible and scalable protection for cloud computing environments.

These factors highlight the need for cybersecurity mesh, but there are other factors that make the cybersecurity mesh option attractive:

  1. Ease of implementation. Digitalization has accelerated exponentially in recent years. This rate of growth can render traditional security models top-heavy and cumbersome. Cybersecurity mesh is uniquely suited to make design, deployment, and maintenance simple and efficient.
  2. Practicality. Cloud-based applications, distributed data, and uncontrolled devices all complicate traditional security policies and techniques. Therefore, a cybersecurity mesh strategy is a more practical model for dealing with components of an organization’s digital assets that lie outside the traditional network perimeter.
  3. Agility. The nature of the cybersecurity mesh approach is that it makes an organization’s response to security and expansion more agile. Nodes can be added or removed with relative ease, new locations can be monitored and controlled from a central control point, and threat response and mitigation can more easily mitigate an attack.

Digital Transformation That Highlight the Need for Cybersecurity Mesh

The acceleration of digital transformation and innovation has caused a whirlwind of evolution in the cyber needs of organizations of various sizes. Keeping up with existing threats and preparing for zero-day threats has become more complex and challenging. As a result, an organization must unify its protection tools so they cover all access and endpoints. With cybersecurity mesh, security policies can be applied to all segments of your environment.

Firewalls and network control tools ensure that a particular area is independently safe and not a threat to the rest of the infrastructure. Cybersecurity controls can be delivered and managed through the cloud from a single control point. By centralizing controls in this way, an organization can reduce their IT staff expenditure, including the workstations they would need to manage disparate solutions. Additionally, you can use one control center—managed by a single individual or small team.

How Fortinet Can Help

Fortinet Security Fabric is designed to manage the entire digital attack surface—while reducing risk by eliminating vulnerabilities and gaps in security. It automates much of the mesh, reducing complexity while increasing speed and efficiency. The Fortinet Security Fabric offers security-driven networking, zero-trust access, and an adaptive cloud security, helping your organization efficiently scale to an ever-changing digital landscape.

Please read our solution brief Making Cybersecurity Mesh Architectures a Reality with FSF.

FAQs

What is a cybersecurity mesh?

Gartner defines cybersecurity mesh architecture as “a composable and scalable approach to extending security controls, even to widely distributed assets. Its flexibility is especially suitable for increasingly modular approaches consistent with hybrid multicloud architectures. CSMA enables a more composable, flexible and resilient security ecosystem. Rather than every security tool running in a silo, a cybersecurity mesh enables tools to interoperate through several supportive layers, such as consolidated policy management, security intelligence and identity fabric.”

What are the three advantages of cybersecurity?

Cybersecurity secures a system against viruses, worms, spyware, and other unwanted programs. It offers protection against data theft and maintains the privacy of users.

What is cybersecurity mesh by Gartner?

Cybersecurity mesh architecture (CSMA) is a security approach proposed by Gartner and is an architectural concept that advocates interoperability and coordination between individual security products, resulting in a more integrated security policy.

How do you implement a cybersecurity mesh?

Implementing a cybersecurity mesh involves identifying your attack surfaces, then using a unified, centralized, and multi-faceted system that protects all of your digital assets.