Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Qu’est-ce que la sécurité du cloud ?

Définition de la sécurité du cloud

La sécurité du cloud computing est plus connue sous le nom plus simple de « sécurité du cloud ». 

La sécurité du cloud consiste en des règles, procédures, technologies et contrôles qui fonctionnent ensemble pour protéger les systèmes dans le cloud, l’infrastructure et les données.

La sécurité du cloud vise à garantir la défense de tous les éléments de votre réseau qui interagissent avec le cloud. Elle garantit également que votre infrastructure cloud reste bien protégée contre les cyberattaques et les menaces sophistiquées.

Pourquoi la sécurité du cloud est-elle importante ?

Chaque fois qu’il y a une violation de sécurité dans le cloud, les entreprises perdent du temps, de l’argent et des ressources pendant qu’elles tentent de se rétablir. Les temps d’arrêt résultant d’une violation du cloud peuvent entraîner des régressions opérationnelles importantes : les applications et les données dans le cloud, ainsi que les appareils et réseaux connectés au cloud peuvent être exposés à de nombreuses menaces.

Bien que l’entretien des systèmes de sécurité des réseaux internes soit souvent géré par des équipes informatiques internes, quand vous mettez des données ou des systèmes sur le cloud, vos précieux actifs numériques sont nécessairement sous la responsabilité d’un tiers. Pour minimiser le risque inhérent qui en résulte, un système de sécurité cloud robuste est indispensable.

Voici quelques-uns des avantages de la sécurité du cloud :

Un environnement de travail à distance plus sûr

L’un des principaux avantages de l’intégration du cloud computing dans vos opérations est l’accessibilité des données. Un employé qui dispose d’une connexion Internet peut interagir à tout moment avec le contenu ou les systèmes dont il a besoin pour travailler. Cela procure à votre entreprise de la flexibilité et de la souplesse.

Cependant, un problème peut survenir si les employés accèdent à votre infrastructure cloud par des moyens non sécurisés. Par exemple, si l’un d’entre eux se rend dans un café, il peut se connecter à l’aide d’un réseau public. Votre réseau cloud est ainsi exposé à tous les malfaiteurs qui se trouveraient à la recherche d’opportunités sur cette connexion publique et vulnérable.

De plus, lorsque les employés utilisent leurs appareils personnels, ou emportent des appareils de l’entreprise avec eux, ils peuvent les exposer accidentellement à des logiciels malveillants. Lorsqu’ils se connectent à votre environnement cloud, tout ce qui s’est caché sur leur ordinateur ou appareil, comme les malwares ou les trojans, peut être utilisé pour s’introduire dans votre système cloud.

La seule façon de vous protéger contre ce type d’intrusions dans votre infrastructure est de mettre en place un système de sécurité cloud puissant.

Garantir des stockages de données plus sûrs

De nombreuses entreprises utilisent un environnement cloud pour sauvegarder leurs données. En cas de sinistre, il est facile de se mettre au travail, car il vous suffit de vous connecter au cloud et pour avoir accès à ce dont vous avez besoin. Cependant, si ces données ne sont pas sécurisées, vous pourriez finir par télécharger des fichiers corrompus. Si ces menaces parvenaient à pénétrer dans votre système, elles pourraient affecter non seulement le réseau et les appareils de votre entreprise, mais également ceux des clients.

Un système de sécurité des données dans le cloud aide à protéger les données précieuses contre les logiciels, les organisations ou les individus malveillants.

Se conformer aux exigences réglementaires

Dans certains secteurs, le niveau de votre sécurité des données peut déterminer si vous êtes du bon ou du mauvais côté de la loi. Par exemple, avec les lois HIPAA (loi américaine sur la portabilité et la responsabilité des assurances maladie) et RGPD (Règlement Général sur la Protection des Données) actuelles, un système de sécurité laxiste pourrait entraîner l’exposition de données sensibles, au point d’être en infraction avec la législation actuelle.

Une solution de sécurité du cloud solide peut vous aider à éviter qu’un problème de sécurité n’ait de graves conséquences juridiques pour votre entreprise. Cela est particulièrement important du fait que ceux qui font appliquer la loi se sentent souvent obligés de trouver quelqu’un à blâmer lorsque les choses tournent mal. Une violation de sécurité pourrait mettre votre organisation en ligne de mire, entraînant une mauvaise presse, des batailles juridiques et la perte de confiance des actionnaires. D’autre part, un système complet de sécurité des données cloud pourrait éviter les problèmes avant qu’ils ne commencent.

Garder les données à l’intérieur et les hackers à l’écart

Un système cloud sans mesures de sécurité solides en place peut ressembler à une passoire de données. Avec autant d’utilisateurs accédant au réseau via une multitude d’appareils, il est facile pour les données de tomber entre de mauvaises mains. De plus, un système cloud non protégé est une surface d’attaque opportune pour les hackers.

Un système de sécurité cloud agit comme une porte de chambre forte. Il conserve les données précieuses à l’intérieur tout en les protégeant des éléments criminels.

Les catégories de Cloud Computing

  1. Les services de cloud public : Un cloud public est géré par un fournisseur tiers. L’espace sur le serveur du cloud est loué aux organisations, et le tiers est responsable de la maintenance, de la sécurité et de l’entretien général. Il comprend le logiciel en tant que service (SaaS), l’infrastructure en tant que service (IaaS) et la plateforme en tant que service (PaaS). 
  2. Le cloud privé : Un cloud privé est utilisé par une seule organisation. Les ressources et l’infrastructure sont utilisées exclusivement par cette entreprise. Il est généralement plus coûteux, mais offre de meilleures options de personnalisation et de sécurité.
  3. Le cloud hybride : Un cloud hybride combine des fonctionnalités de cloud public et privé. Les clouds hybrides peuvent également inclure une combinaison de data centers sur site, de data centers virtuels et d’instances de cloud public et/ou privé. Les entreprises qui souhaitent pouvoir évoluer rapidement ainsi que bénéficier d’une sécurité renforcée tirent aisément profit des services de cloud hybride.

Les défis de sécurité du cloud computing

  1. Les attaques par DDoS : Les attaques par déni de service distribué (DDoS) sont de plus en plus communes. Les attaquants utilisent les attaques DDoS pour submerger le serveur d’un site Web, de façon à ce qu’il n’ait plus la capacité de répondre aux demandes des utilisateurs. Cela peut rendre le site inutile pendant de longues périodes.
  2. La perte de données : Les données peuvent être perdues du cloud pour diverses raisons. Même lorsque personne n’essaie activement de voler les données, elles peuvent être perdues à cause d’un accident ou d’une catastrophe naturelle. Les solutions de sécurité cloud peuvent non seulement aider à prévenir les vols, mais aussi inclure des mesures pour protéger les données contre les événements inattendus.
  3. Les violations de données : Les données sur le cloud peuvent être une cible facile pour un bon hacker si elles ne sont pas sécurisées. Certains volent des données pour tirer profit des membres d’une organisation. D’autres les vendent à des entités souhaitant connaître les secrets d’une société. Sans les bonnes solutions de sécurité cloud, les données d’une entreprise peuvent être vulnérables.
  4. Les points d’accès vulnérables : Un système basé sur le cloud offre une facilité d’accès imbattable, mais les appareils utilisés pour interagir avec le cloud sont souvent non protégés ou sous-protégés. Par conséquent, presque tous les téléphones, tablettes, ordinateurs portables ou autres dispositifs mobiles qui accèdent à votre système cloud peuvent offrir une opportunité d’attaque pour un individu ou un logiciel malfaisant. Cependant, avec le bon pare-feu, vous pouvez limiter l’accès au bon type de trafic.
  5. Les alertes et notifications : En cas de violation de sécurité, arrêter la menace avant qu’elle ne cause des dommages importants n’est qu’une partie du travail. Un système complet assurera que les parties prenantes importantes sont tenues informées de la situation. Souvent, les dégâts d’une attaque, même après son arrêt, découlent du fait qu’un temps trop long s’écoule avant que l’équipe informatique ne puisse réagir et alerter les autres. Un système de sécurité cloud réactif fournit des informations par le biais d’alertes et de notifications à ceux qui ont besoin d’être informés, et quand ils en ont besoin.

Les meilleures pratiques de sécurité du cloud

  1. Mettre en place des règles de protection des données : Chaque organisation dispose de données cruciales qui doivent être protégées. Il est important d’identifier les données les plus cruciales et de les protéger contre tout accès indésirable. Minimiser la surface d’attaque des données cruciales peut concentrer les ressources de votre sécurité du cloud, ce qui vous permet d’en tirer le meilleur parti.
  2. Utiliser des clés personnalisées pour chiffrer les données sensibles : Même la plus solide combinaison de nom d’utilisateur et de mot de passe peut être compromise par un hacker entreprenant. Qu’un inconnu utilise des logiciels espions ou qu’un employé mécontent obtienne des identifiants de connexion, les violations des modèles d’authentification à facteur unique sont beaucoup trop faciles à mettre en œuvre. Grâce à l’authentification multifacteur (MFA) utilisant des clés personnalisées, votre système est mieux protégé.
  3. Limiter les moyens par lesquels les données sont partagées : Étant donné que de multiples utilisateurs envoient des données à diverses personnes, il peut être difficile de déterminer qui reçoit quoi et comment. Des clients, investisseurs et autres personnes extérieures peuvent avoir accès à des données sensibles inutilement. Vous pouvez utiliser un système de sécurité du cloud pour vous assurer que seuls ceux qui « ont besoin de savoir » ont accès aux données sensibles.
  4. Empêcher les données d’aller vers des périphériques non gérés : Il est important de savoir comment les données sont traitées après avoir quitté votre cloud. Un certain nombre d’appareils non gérés peuvent entraîner le partage de données avec les mauvaises parties. Cependant, avec un système de sécurité du cloud, vous pouvez vous assurer que seuls les bons appareils se connectent au réseau.
  5. Le chiffrement des données dans le cloud : Le cryptage des données offre une couche de protection supplémentaire. Même si quelqu’un parvient à s’introduire malgré un pare-feu ou un filtrage Web, le cryptage masquant les données peut toujours protéger vos données.
  6. Tester régulièrement votre système de sécurité : Avoir un système puissant en place n’est que la moitié du chemin. Pour garantir sa fonctionnalité, vous devez effectuer des tests d’intrusion. Ils peuvent révéler de graves lacunes que vous pouvez combler grâce à des mesures supplémentaires ou des ajustements de votre configuration de sécurité.
  7. Former les employés nécessaires à la prise en charge de votre système de sécurité : Les employés sont souvent un angle mort en matière de sécurité. Même avec les meilleures intentions, une petite erreur peut être désastreuse pour votre configuration de sécurité du cloud. Les former sur ce qu’il faut faire, ne pas faire, comment gérer leurs clés d’accès et les choses à surveiller peut éviter des violations de sécurité potentiellement coûteuses.

La sécurité du cloud peut rendre votre système basé sur le cloud aussi sûr qu’un ordinateur ou un appareil personnel dans votre poche, voire même plus sûr. Avec une stratégie dynamique de sécurité du cloud en place, vous pouvez fournir la visibilité dont votre équipe informatique a besoin, ainsi que le contrôle et la protection pour assurer la sécurité de vos données et de vos systèmes.

Une sécurité réseau de cloud sécurisée

Accélérer votre parcours applicatif avec un réseau cloud sécurisé

Augmenter la souplesse, réduire les risques et optimiser les coûts

S'enregistrer maintenant

Comment Fortinet peut-il vous aider ?

Avec le rythme croissant de l’accélération numérique et de l’adoption du cloud, les entreprises ont besoin de solutions de sécurité spécifiquement adaptées aux environnements et infrastructures cloud. Fortinet aide les organisations à protéger leurs parcours applicatifs vers, à l’intérieur et à travers les clouds avec Fortinet Cloud Security. Ces solutions offrent la visibilité et le contrôle sur l'ensemble des infrastructures de cybersécurité sur cloud, permettant la protection des applications et de la connectivité, du data center jusqu'au cloud.

Les solutions de sécurité cloud Fortinet sont nativement intégrées à toutes les principales plateformes et technologies de cloud. Une architecture maillée de cybersécurité, telle que le Fortinet Security Fabric, s’étend sur tous les environnements hybrides et multi-cloud. Cette approche de plateforme réduit la complexité opérationnelle, offre une meilleure visibilité, comble les lacunes en matière de ressources et de compétences et améliore l’efficacité globale de la sécurité.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le Rapport 2021 sur la sécurité du cloud de Cybersecurity Insiders.

Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Cloud Security Definition

Cloud security—or more generally, cloud computing security—is the set of security policies and controls designed to protect data, applications, and infrastructure associated with cloud computing.

When it comes to securing the cloud, there are three main areas that must be addressed: data security, application security, and infrastructure security.

  1. Data security in the cloud: Protection of data in the cloud from unauthorized access or theft
  2. Application security in the cloud: Protection of cloud-based applications from attack or exploitation
  3. Infrastructure security in the cloud: Protection of the underlying infrastructure that powers the cloud 

How Does Cloud Security Work?

In the context of the cloud security definition discussed above, cloud security measures work to address any data or system threats, enable data recovery in case of data loss, prevent or reduce human error and negligence that result in data leaks, and secure data storage and networks from theft.

Cloud security addresses these aspects in the following ways:

  1. Data security: Cloud security offers data security through cloud-based tools and technologies. These tools enable providers and customers to prevent visibility and access to crucial data by unapproved parties. An example is encryption
  2. Identity and Access Management (IAM)Cloud-based tools allow organizations to manage authentication and control access to sensitive data and systems. 
  3. Governance: Cloud security offers comprehensive threat detection, prevention, and mitigation policies. These typically include rules governing safe use and threat response.
  4. Data retention and business continuity planning: In case of data loss, cloud security enables data recovery through disaster recovery measures, such as frequently updated backups.
  5. Legal compliance: Depending on their jurisdiction and industry, organizations are mandated by law to comply with certain user privacy policies. One applicable cloud security measure to ensure compliance is data masking or obfuscation. 

Why Is Cloud Security Important?

Whenever there is a security breach in the cloud, companies lose money, time, and resources as they try to recover. The downtime that results from a cloud breach can cause significant operational setbacks – applications and data in the cloud, and cloud-connected devices and networks can be exposed to a numerous threats.

While maintaining a security system for an in-house network is often managed by an internal IT team, whenever you put data or systems on the cloud, your valuable digital assets are, essentially, under someone else’s care. To minimize the resulting inherent risk, a robust cloud security system is necessary.

Here are just a few of the benefits of cloud security:

Safer Remote Work Environment

One of the top advantages of incorporating cloud computing into your operations is data accessibility. Anytime an employee has an internet connection, they can interact with the content or systems they need to do their jobs. This gives your company flexibility and agility.

A problem may arise, however, if employees access your cloud infrastructure through unsafe means. For example, if someone slips into a coffee shop, they may sign in using a public network. This leaves your cloud network exposed to any bad actors who may be looking for opportunities on that public, vulnerable connection.

Also, when employees use their personal devices—or take devices from work home with them—they can accidentally expose them to malicious software. When they connect to your cloud environment, anything that sneaked onto their computer or device—such as malware or Trojans—could be used to invade your cloud system.

The only way to guard against these kinds of inroads into your infrastructure is to institute a powerful cloud security system.

Ensure Safer Stores of Data

Many companies use a cloud environment to back up their data. In the event of a disaster, it is easy to get things up and running because all you have to do is connect to the cloud and grab what you need. However, if this data is not secure, you could end up downloading corrupted files. If these were allowed to penetrate your system, they could affect not just your business’s network and devices but those of customers as well.

A cloud data security system helps shield valuable data from dangerous software, organizations, or people.

Meet Regulatory Requirements

In certain sectors, the degree to which you keep data secure can determine whether you are on the right or wrong side of the law. For example, with current Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) and General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) laws, a lax security system could result in the exposure of sensitive data—to the extent that you fall out of line with current legislation.

A strong cloud security solution can help you prevent a security slip-up from having serious legal ramifications for your company. This is especially important in light of the fact that those who enforce the law often feel obligated to find someone to blame when things go wrong. A security breach could put your organization in the crosshairs, resulting in bad press, legal battles, and lost shareholder confidence. On the other hand, a complete cloud data security system could prevent problems before they begin.

Keep Data in and Attackers Out

A cloud system without thorough security measures in place can be like a data sieve. With so many users accessing the network via a wide selection of devices, it is easy for data to get leaked to the wrong person. Additionally, an unprotected cloud system is a convenient attack surface for hackers.

A cloud security system acts like the door to a vault. It keeps valuable data inside while keeping criminal elements out.

Cloud Computing Categories

  1. Public cloud services: A public cloud is one managed by a third-party provider. The space on the cloud server is rented to organizations, and the third party is in charge of maintenance, security, and general upkeep. It includes software-as-a-service (SaaS), infrastructure-as-a-service (IaaS), and platform-as-a-service (PaaS). 
  2. Private clouds: A private cloud is limited for use by a single organization. The resources and infrastructure are used exclusively by that company. These tend to come with a higher price tag but offer better customization and security options.
  3. Hybrid clouds: A hybrid cloud works as a combination of public and private cloud features. Hybrid clouds can also involve a combination of on-premise datacenters, virtual datacenters, and both public and/or private cloud instances.  Companies that want the freedom to scale quickly as well as enjoy strong security often take advantage of hybrid cloud services.

Cloud Data Protection Benefits to Enterprises

Some cloud security benefits include the ability to:

  1. Secure applications and data while gaining total visibility over every user, folder, and file activity across various environments
  2. Proactively identify and reduce risks, including malware, unusual user activity, and security concerns 
  3. Improve access control
  4. Establish policies
  5. Identify and stop the loss of data

Cloud Computing Security Challenges

  1. DDoS attacks: Distributed denial-of-service (DDoS) attacks have been growing in popularity. Attackers use DDoS attacks to overwhelm a website’s server so it does not have the capacity to respond to user requests. This could render the site useless for long periods of time.
  2. Loss of data: Data can be lost from the cloud for a variety of reasons. Even when no one is actively trying to take data, it can be lost due to an accident or a natural disaster. Not only do cloud security solutions help keep thieves out but they can also include measures to protect data from unexpected events.
  3. Data breaches: Data on the cloud can be a slow-moving target for the right hacker if it is not secured. Some steal data to exploit members of an organization. Others sell it to entities wishing to know a company’s secrets. Without the right cloud security solutions, a company’s data may be exposed.
  4. Vulnerable access points: A cloud-based system offers unbeatable access, but the devices used to interact with the cloud are often unprotected or under-protected. As a result, nearly every phone, tablet, laptop, or other mobile device that accesses your cloud system could present an attack opportunity for the wrong person or software. However, with the right firewall, you can limit access to the right kind of traffic.
  5. Alerts and notifications: When there is a security breach, stopping the threat before it does significant damage is only part of the job. A complete system will make sure important stakeholders are notified of the situation. Often, the damage of an attack, even after it has been stopped, comes from the fact that too much time passes before the IT team is able to react and alert others. A responsive cloud security system provides information through alerts and notifications to those who need to know—and when they need to know it.

Cloud Security Best Practices

  1. Put data protection policies in place: Each organization has mission-critical data that needs to be protected. It is important to identify the most crucial data and shield it from unwanted access. Minimizing the attack surface of crucial data can focus your cloud security resources, enabling you to get the most out of them.
  2. Use personalized keys to encrypt sensitive data: Even the strongest username and password combination can be compromised by an enterprising hacker. Whether an outsider uses spyware or a disgruntled employee gets their hands on login credentials, breaches in single-factor authentication models are far too easy to orchestrate. With multi-factor authentication (MFA) using personalized keys, your system is better protected.
  3. Limit how data gets shared: With multiple users sending data to various people, it can be difficult to pin down who is getting what and how. Customers, investors, and other outsiders may gain access to sensitive data unnecessarily. You can use a cloud security system to make sure only those who “need to know” can access sensitive data.
  4. Prevent data from going to unmanaged devices: It is important to know how data is treated after it leaves your cloud. A number of unmanaged devices could result in data being shared with the wrong parties. However, with a cloud security system, you can make sure only the right devices connect to the network.
  5. Data encryption in the cloud: Encrypting data provides an extra layer of protection. Even if someone is able to get behind a firewall or web filter, the encryption hiding the data can still keep your data safe.
  6. Routinely test your security system: Having a powerful system in place is only half the battle. To ensure its functionality, you should have penetration tests performed. This can reveal critical gaps that you can address through additional measures or adjustments to your security setup.
  7. Train the necessary employees to support your security system: Employees are often a security blind spot. Even though they may have the best intentions, a small error can be disastrous for your cloud security setup. Training them on what to do, what not to do, how to manage their access keys, and things to look out for can eliminate potentially costly security breaches.

Cloud security can make your cloud-based system as safe as a personal computer or device in your pocket—or even safer. With a dynamic cloud security strategy in place, you can provide the visibility your IT team needs, along with the control and protection to keep your data and systems safe.

Secure Cloud Network Security

Accelerate Your Application Journey with a Secure Cloud Network

Increase agility, reduce risk, and optimize cost

Register Now

Cloud Data Protection—Top 4 Use Cases


Here are some of the most effective use cases for cloud computing security:
  1. Disaster recovery in the cloud: This is when cloud storage is used to protect data from harmful natural events and human threats. With seamless integration to on-premises data protection architecture, cloud disaster recovery enables enterprises to recover data and applications directly from the cloud in minutes.
  2. Backup to the cloud for long-term data storage: In this use scenario, to comply with long-term storage compliance requirements, public cloud object storage (COS) services are used to back up data from on-premises infrastructure.
  3. Cloud backup: The cloud can include both long-term backups for compliance and short-term backups for operational recovery.
  4. Cloud backup: In this use case, workloads running on instances of public cloud virtual machines are backed up to cloud storage.

How Fortinet Can Help?

With the ever-growing pace of digital acceleration and cloud adoption, enterprises need specific security solutions tailored for cloud environments and infrastructures. Fortinet helps organizations protect their application journeys into, within, and across clouds with Fortinet Cloud Security.  These solutions provide visibility and control across cloud cybersecurity infrastructures, providing protection for applications and connectivity from data center to cloud.

Fortinet cloud security solutions are natively integrated across all major cloud platforms and technologies. A cybersecurity mesh architecture, such as the Fortinet Security Fabric, extends across all hybrid and multi-cloud environments. This platform approach reduces operational complexity, provides greater visibility, address resource and skill gaps, and improves overall security effectiveness.

Learn more in the Cybersecurity Insiders 2022 Cloud Security Report.