Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Définition d'un système IPS

Nous contacter

Définition d’un système de prévention d’intrusion (IPS) intégré

Un système de prévention d'intrusion (Intrusion Prevention System, IPS) intégré aide les organisations à identifier le trafic malveillant et l’empêche de manière proactive d’entrer dans leur réseau. Les produits qui utilisent la technologie IPS peuvent être déployés en ligne pour surveiller le trafic entrant et inspecter ce trafic à la recherche de vulnérabilités et d’exploits, et s’ils sont détectés, pour prendre alors les mesures appropriées, telles que définies dans les règles de sécurité, par exemple bloquer l’accès, mettre en quarantaine les hôtes ou bloquer l’accès à des sites Web externes qui pourraient entraîner une violation potentielle.

FortiGate IPS : Protéger contre les menaces connues et zero-day | Système de prévention d’intrusion

FortiGuard offre un service complet de service de sécurité réseau axé sur la sécurité qui fournit aux entreprises un service IPS validé par le secteur. Construit spécialement pour les entreprises et conçu pour offrir une efficacité de sécurité supérieure et les meilleures performances IPS du secteur. Piloté par la veille sur les menaces basée sur l'intelligence artificielle (IA) et le Machine Learning (ML) de FortiGuard Labs.

Voir

Comment fonctionnent les systèmes de prévention d’intrusion

Un service de sécurité IPS est généralement déployé « en ligne », où il se trouve dans le chemin de communication direct entre la source et la destination ; à cet emplacement, il peut analyser en « temps réel » tout le flux de trafic réseau le long de ce chemin et prendre des mesures préventives automatisées. La technologie IPS peut être déployée n’importe où sur le réseau, mais ses déploiements les plus courants sont :

  • Enterprise Edge, périmètre
  • Data center de l’entreprise

Un système de prévention d’intrusion peut être déployé en tant que meilleur système IPS autonome ou la même capacité peut être activée dans la fonction IPS consolidée à l’intérieur d’un pare-feu nouvelle génération (Next-Generation Firewall, NGFW).  La technologie IPS utilise des signatures qui peuvent être spécifiques à la fois à la vulnérabilité ou à l’exploit pour identifier le trafic malveillant. Généralement, il s’agit d’une détection basée sur des signatures ou d’une détection basée sur des anomalies statistiques pour identifier les activités malveillantes. 

  1. La détection basée sur les signatures utilise des signatures identifiables de manière unique qui sont situées dans le code d’un exploit. Lorsque des exploits sont découverts, leurs signatures sont intégrées à une base de données en expansion croissante. La détection basée sur les signatures pour la technologie IPS implique soit des signatures orientées exploit, qui identifient elles-mêmes les exploits individuels, soit des signatures orientées vulnérabilité, qui identifient la vulnérabilité dans le système visé par l’attaque. Les signatures orientées vulnérabilité sont importantes pour identifier les variantes d’exploit potentielles qui n’ont pas été observées auparavant, mais elles augmentent également le risque de résultats faux positifs (des paquets bénins identifiés à tort comme des menaces).
  2. La détection statistique basée sur les anomalies échantillonne de manière aléatoire le trafic réseau, puis compare les échantillons aux références de niveau de performance. Lorsque des échantillons sont identifiés comme se situant en dehors de la référence, le système de prévention d’intrusion déclenche une action pour empêcher une attaque potentielle.

Une fois que la technologie IPS identifie le trafic malveillant qui peut être exploitable sur le réseau, il déploie ce qu’on appelle un correctif virtuel pour la protection. Le correctif virtuel agit comme une mesure de sécurité contre les menaces qui exploitent des vulnérabilités connues et inconnues. Le correctif virtuel fonctionne en mettant en œuvre des couches de règles de sécurité qui interceptent un exploit  et l’empêchent de prendre des chemins réseau vers et depuis une vulnérabilité, offrant ainsi une couverture contre cette vulnérabilité au niveau du réseau plutôt qu’au niveau de l’hôte.

Accès sécurisé à distance

Démonstration du produit FortiGate IPS

Demander une démonstration

IPS comparé à IDS

Alors que les systèmes IDS surveillent le réseau et envoient des alertes aux administrateurs réseau sur les menaces potentielles, les systèmes IPS prennent des mesures plus substantielles pour contrôler l’accès au réseau, surveiller les données d’intrusion et empêcher le développement d’attaques.

IPS comparé à IDS

IPS comparé à IDS

La technologie IPS correspond à l’évolution du système de détection d’intrusion (Intrusion Detection System, IDS). La technologie IDS utilise le même concept d’identification du trafic et certaines techniques similaires, la différence majeure étant que les IPS sont déployés « en ligne » et les IDS sont déployés « hors ligne » ou sur demande, où ils inspectent bien une copie de l’ensemble du trafic ou du flux, mais ne peuvent pas prendre de mesures préventives. Les IDS sont déployés uniquement pour surveiller et fournir des analyses et une visibilité sur les menaces sur le réseau.


Comment Fortinet peut vous aider

Le service de sécurité FortiGuard IPS est disponible pour le NGFW (matériel, machine virtuelle, en tant que service) FortiClient, FortiProxy, FortiADC et notre Cloud Sandbox. Ajoutez nos services OT et IoT pour obtenir une protection encore plus granulaire pour la technologie opérationnelle et les appareils IoT.

FortiGuard IPS avec NGFW offre les avantages suivants :

  1. Correctifs virtuels basés sur le réseau pour les applications métiers qui sont difficiles ou impossibles à corriger. Cela garantit la protection contre les vulnérabilités sans interrompre les opérations.
  2. Capacités FortiGuard IPS accélérées grâce au processeur de contenu (CP9) spécialement construit par Fortinet sur FortiGate, pour offrir les meilleurs prix et performances IPS du secteur.
  3. Technologie IPS étendue à des fonctionnalités supplémentaires, telles que l’inspection SSL (y compris TLS 1.3) pour détecter les malwares cachés, les ransomwares et d’autres attaques transmises par HTTPS.

Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

What Is IPS (Intrusion Prevention System)?

Intrusion Prevention System (IPS) Definition

What is an intrusion prevention system (IPS)?  IPS is a security tool or service that helps an organization identify malicious traffic and proactively blocks it from entering their network. Products using IPS technology can be deployed in-line to monitor incoming traffic and inspect that traffic for vulnerabilities and exploits.  If it detects issues, an intrusion prevention system can take the appropriate action defined in the security polityand if detected then take appropriate action as defined in the security policy—such as blocking access, quarantining hosts, or preventing access to external websites that could lead to a breach.

How Intrusion Prevention Systems (IPS) Work

An IPS security service is typically deployed “in-line” where they sit in the direct communication path between the source and the destination, where it can analyze in real-time all the network traffic flow along that path and take automated preventive action. The IPS can be deployed anywhere in the network but their most common deployments locations are:

  • Enterprise Edge, Perimeter
  • Enterprise Data Center

An IPS can be deployed as a standalone IPS or the same capability can be turned on in the consolidated IPS function inside a next-generation firewall (NGFW). An IPS uses signatures which can be both vulnerability or exploit specific to identify malicious traffic.  Typically, these  employ signature-based detection or statistical anomaly-based detection to identify malicious activity. 

  1. Signature-based detection uses uniquely identifiable signatures that are located in exploit code. When exploits are discovered, their signatures go into an increasingly expanding database. Signature-based detection for IPS involves either exploit-facing signatures, which identify the individual exploits themselves, or vulnerability-facing signatures, which identify the vulnerability in the system being targeted for attack. Vulnerability-facing signatures are important for identifying potential exploit variants that haven’t been previously observed, but they also increase the risk of false positive results (benign packets mislabeled as threats).
  2. Statistical anomaly-based detection randomly samples network traffic and then compares samples to performance level baselines. When samples are identified as being outside of the baseline, the IPS triggers an action to prevent potential attack.

Once the IPS identifies the malicious traffic that can be network exploitable it deploys what is known as a virtual patch for protection. Virtual patch, acts as a safety measure against threats that exploit known and unknown vulnerabilities. It works by implementing layers of security policies and rules that prevent and intercept an exploit from taking network paths to and from a vulnerability, thereby offering coverage against that vulnerability at the network level rather than the host level.

Types of Intrusion Prevention Systems (IPS)

There are four noteworthy types of intrusion prevention systems. Each type has its own unique defense specialty.

Network-based intrusion prevention system (NIPS) to

Typically, a network-based intrusion prevention system is placed at key network locations, where it monitors traffic and scans for cyberthreats.

Wireless intrusion prevention system (WIPS)

As you would expect, wireless intrusion prevention systems monitor Wi-Fi networks, acting as a gatekeeper and removing unauthorized devices.

Host-based intrusion prevention system (HIPS)

Installed on endpoints like PCs, host-based intrusion prevention systems monitor inbound and outbound traffic from that device only. HIPS works best in tandem with a NIPS and serves to block threats that have made it past the NIPS.

Network behavior analysis (NBA)

Not be confused with professional basketball, NBA is focused on network traffic to detect odd movement and flows that might be associated with distributed denial of service (DDoS) attacks.

Secure Remote Access

FortiGate IPS Product Demo

Request Demo


Intrusion Prevention System (IPS) vs. Intrusion Detection System (IDS)

While intrusion detection systems (IDS) monitor the network and send alerts to network administrators about potential threats, intrusion prevention systems take more substantial actions to control access to the network, monitor intrusion data, and prevent attacks from developing.

IPS evolved from IDS. IDS technology uses the same concept of identifying traffic and some of the similar techniques with the major difference being that IPS are deployed “in-line” and IDS are deployed “off-line” or on tap where they still inspect a copy of the entire traffic or flow but cannot take any preventive action. IDS are deployed to only monitor and provide analytics and visibility into the threats on the network.

How Fortinet Can Help?

FortiGuard IPS security service is available for NGFW (hardware, virtual machine, as-a-service) FortiClient, FortiProxy, FortiADC and our Cloud Sandbox. Add our OT and IoT services to get even more granular protection for operational technology and IoT devices.

FortiGuard IPS with NGFW offers the following:

  1. Network-based virtual patching for business applications that are hard to patch or can’t be patched. This ensures protection against vulnerabilities without interrupting operations.
  2. Accelerated FortiGuard IPS capabilities thanks to Fortinet’s purpose-built content processor (CP9) on the FortiGate, to deliver the industry’s best IPS price and performance.
  3. Extended IPS to additional capabilities like SSL inspection (including TLS 1.3) to detect hidden malware, ransomware, and other HTTPS-borne attacks.

FortiGate IPS: Protect Against Known and Zero-day Threats

FortiGuard offers a comprehensive security-driven network security service that delivers an industry-validated IPS service to enterprises. Purpose-built for enterprises and designed to deliver superior security efficacy and the industry’s best IPS performance. Powered by the AI/ML-driven threat intelligence from FortiGuard Labs.