Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

硬件防火墙:与软件防火墙的区别

硬件 vs 软件防火墙

在最基本的层面上,硬件防火墙是物理单元,而软件防火墙则通过应用程序从计算机内部运行。他们有总体相同的使命,但他们以略有不同的方式实现该使命,从而分别有各自的优势:

  • 初始成本更低: 首次购买时,软件防火墙相对便宜。有的会提供免费试用,免费试用之后可获得相对较低的月度费用。然而,从长远来看,订阅费用可能比您购买硬件解决方案支付的费用更昂贵。
  • 所需空间小:如果空间是一个问题,软件可能是一个更好的选择,因为应用程序不会占用实体空间。
  • 易于安装:许多软件防火墙只需几次点击即可启动和运行,而硬件防火墙则需要连接电线、连接电源并放在适当的位置。

同时,软件防火墙的保护也存在局限性。它们必须安装在网络中的每台计算机上。当需要更新您的保护措施时,如果任意一个装置未做好接收更新的准备,则必须进行手动更新。由于他们没有自己的操作系统,软件防火墙还会消耗关键的计算能力和内存,从而影响用户体验和网络安全。

什么是硬件防火墙?

硬件防火墙可作为服务器的网闸和反病毒解决方案。它直接位于路由器的后端,可通过配置分析传入流量,并在流量接触设备时过滤掉特定的威胁。

硬件防火墙是一种物理设备,非常类似于过滤进入计算机流量的服务器。用户通常会将网络电缆直接插入计算机或服务器,但使用硬件防火墙后,电缆会首先插入防火墙。防火墙位于外部网络和服务器之间,提供反病毒解决方案和防止入侵的硬屏障。 

硬件防火墙具有多种优点:

  1. 可用于智能控制到达服务器的流量
  2. 可配置针对所有流量的特定规则
  3. 可以减轻其他服务器资源的负担。例如,您可以禁用软件防火墙,这可以释放急需的内存和处理器能力

硬件防火墙的工作原理

尽管特定设置取决于网络的配置方式,但所有防火墙的运行方式是类似的。它们位于您的网络和互联网之间,有助于保护您的网络免受潜在的损害,并防止不法分子利用您的网络向其他地方传播恶意数据。

数据包过滤是一种简单的防火墙,可自行检查数据。由于数据带有关于其来源和位置的信息,防火墙会利用这一点来确定数据是否会对系统构成威胁,然后通过权限列表检查信息。如果数据未通过权限列表,则不允许通过。如果根据权限,数据是安全的,则允许其通过。

现代硬件防火墙可以检查进出两个方向的数据。与检查传入流量的机制类似,防火墙也会对传出数据进行权限检查。这样,防火墙就可以捕获嵌入在编码中的,目的在于让您的计算机向互联网上其他计算机传播恶意代码的数据。

物理防火墙的优势

  1. 单一设备网络控制: 单一硬件防火墙可为连接到服务器的每个计算机提供保护,从而减少了在每台计算机上安装软件所需的时间 和资源。
  2. 实现网络中所有计算机的同步更新和保护升级: 只需更新一次您的保护设置,网络上所有计算机都能受益。这可确保所有设备都免受安全漏洞的威胁,避免 IT 团队手动更新每台计算机,并信赖每台计算机都能随时准备好自动更新,且每个用户将采取适当的步骤实施更新。
  3. 持续保护: 硬件防火墙始终会保持开启并持续运行,除非您选择关闭它们。由于无需每月支付费用,电脑内存或处理能力也不会出现可能的波动,因此您不会失去保护,也不会让服务器暴露在危险之中。
  4. 更好的安全性: 由于硬件防火墙有自己的独立操作系统,因此在计算机受到攻击时,相对于软件防火墙,它们不容易受到某些攻击的影响。
  5. 防止威胁影响内部驱动器: 保护您计算机的每个方面,并防止潜在的有害和会造成损失的网络入侵。计算机内部驱动器和外来恶意代码之间的物理屏障可在威胁进入计算机之前阻止它们。

使用路由器作为防火墙替代品

许多人都想知道他们的路由器是否可以作为防火墙的替代品。他们这样想的原因是因为许多路由器都具有保护能力,并提供了能满足需求的解决方案。在某些情况下,路由器可以提供您需要的保护,例如:

  1. 防止无预先指定目标的数据:除非路由器知道计算机传入流量的目的地,否则会丢弃相应的数据。如果恶意数据指向路由器,但未受到网络上计算机的特别请求,则路由器会将其清除,因为它不知道要发送到哪个计算机。
  2. 阻止特定类型的数据:某些路由器可通过配置来阻止特定类型的数据退出您的计算机。有了这种保护,恶意攻击者就无法利用您的计算机并使其成为攻击其他设备的中心。

如果路由器与另一个防火墙一起使用,它可以提供额外一层保护。如果通过合理的编程控制,路由器还可以帮助防止您的计算机被恶意软件变成“僵尸”或“被恶意软件绑架”。

但是,路由器无法提供全面的安全解决方案。例如,通过点击链接或访问网站可让路由器允许用户请求的恶意传入流量。它可能不会提供针对此类攻击的保护,因为它可能将“点击”或用户的其它操作解释为对恶意数据的请求。即使用户“请求”了可疑数据,防火墙也会阻止可疑数据。

为您的企业选择合适的防火墙

物理防火墙是否适用于小型企业? 大多数情况下答案是肯定的,因为它们在节省内存和处理能力的同时提供了可靠的保护,也使得其成为了适用于企业的强大解决方案。由于许多设备都是从同一台服务器获取数据,单个物理防火墙可以同时为许多设备提供重要且方便的安全防护,从而为 IT 团队节省了时间和精力。

硬件防火墙还可以保护家庭网络。当将硬件防火墙放在调制解调器和无线路由器之间时,它们有助于防止您的家庭设备受到攻击,并且能够为无法安装您喜爱、信任的软件防火墙的设备提供保护。您可使用一个物理防火墙来保护所有使用网络的设备,而无需获取和管理多个软件防火墙。

Fortinet 防火墙的诸多优势都更胜于普通硬件防火墙。它们具有更深层次的检测能力,能够更好地帮助它们识别攻击、恶意软件和其他威胁。它们还保留了进行未来更新的路径,使得它们能够适应不断变化的互联网威胁趋势。

A hardware firewall is a physical device much like a server that filters the traffic going to a computer. While a user would normally plug a network cable directly into a computer or server, with a hardware firewall, the cable is plugged into the firewall first. The firewall sits between the external network and the server, providing an antivirus solution and a hard barrier against intrusions. 

A hardware firewall provides several benefits:

  1. Can be used to intelligently control the traffic that reaches your server
  2. Can be configured with specific rules for all traffic
  3. Can ease the burden on other server resources. For example, you can disable software firewalls, which can free up much-needed memory and processor power

What is a Hardware Firewall?

A hardware firewall acts as a gatekeeper and antivirus solution for your server. It sits directly behind the router and can be configured to analyze incoming traffic, filtering out specific threats as they come across the device.

 

How Hardware Firewalls Work

Although the specific setup depends on how your network is configured, all firewalls operate in a similar fashion. Positioned between your network and the internet, they help protect your network from potential harm or from being used by bad actors to spread malicious data elsewhere.

One simple type of firewall is called a packet filter, which examines the data itself. Because the data comes with information regarding its source and location, the firewall uses this to determine whether or not the data poses a threat to the system, then runs the information through a list of permissions. If the data does not pass the permissions checklist, it is not allowed through. If, according to the permissions, the data is safe, it is allowed to pass.

Modern hardware firewalls can examine data in both directions. Similar to the mechanism for scrutinizing incoming traffic, the firewall applies a set of permissions to outgoing data as well. In this way, it can catch data embedded in the coding designed to use your computer to spread malicious code to other computers on the internet.

 

Advantages of Physical Firewalls

  1. Single-device network control: A single hardware firewall provides protection for every computer connected to your server, cutting back on the time and resources it takes to  install the software on each computer.
  2. Simultaneous updates and protection upgrades for all computers on the network: Update your protection settings once, and all computers on the network benefit at the same time. This ensures all devices are safe from compromise and saves IT teams from updating each computer manually, trusting that every computer will be free and ready for an automatic update, or trusting that each user will take the appropriate steps to implement an update.
  3. Constant protection: Hardware firewalls stay up and running unless you choose to turn them off. With no monthly payment plans or potential for fluctuations in computer memory or processing power, there is no chance of losing protection and dangerously exposing your server.
  4. Better security: Because hardware firewalls have their own, separate operating system, they are less prone to some of the attacks that software firewalls may suffer when a computer is compromised.
  5. Prevention of threats from reaching internal drives: Shield every facet of your computer from potentially harmful and costly invasions. A physical barrier between your computer’s internal drives and incoming, malicious code stops threats before they penetrate your computer.

Using Routers as Firewall Replacements

Many people wonder if their router can act as a firewall replacement. They reason that because many routers have protective capabilities, they provide an adequate solution. In some cases, a router may provide the protection you need, such as:

  1. Protection from data without a predesignated destination: Unless a router knows which computer incoming traffic is supposed to go to, it discards the data. In the case of malicious data directed at the router but not specifically requested by a computer on the network, the router would get rid of it because it would not know which computer to send it to.
  2. Blocking specific types of data: Some routers can be configured to block specific types of data exiting your computer. With this protection, your computer could not be used by malicious actors looking to make it a hub for attacks on other devices.

If a router is used in conjunction with another firewall, it can provide an extra layer of protection. It can also, if programmed properly, help prevent your computer from being turned into a “zombie” or “kidnapped” by malicious software.

However, routers are not well-equipped to provide a comprehensive security solution. For example, a router may allow malicious incoming traffic a user requests by clicking a link or visiting a site. It may not provide protection against this type of attack because it may interpret the click, or other action by the user, as a request for the malicious data. A firewall will block suspicious data even if it is “requested” by a user.

Hardware vs. Software Firewalls

At the most basic level, a hardware firewall is a physical unit, while software firewalls operate from inside your computer via an application. They have the same general mission, but they go about it in slightly different ways, giving them their own set of advantages:

  • Cost less initially: When first purchased, a software firewall is relatively cheap. Some come with a free trial, and after that, a relatively low monthly fee. In the long run, however, the subscription expense may end up being more costly than what you would have paid for a hardware solution.
  • Require little space: If space is a concern, software may be a better choice because, as an application, it has no footprint.
  • Easy to install: Many software firewalls only require a few clicks to be up and running, whereas hardware firewalls require attaching wires, connecting to power, and proper positioning.

At the same time, the protection of a software firewall also comes with limitations. They have to be installed on every computer in the network. When it comes time to update your protection, if any of the units are not prepared to receive the update, they have to be updated manually. Since they don't have their own operating systems, software firewalls can also drain crucial computing power and memory, affecting user experience and network security.

Choosing the Right Firewall for Your Business

Are physical firewalls good for small businesses? Yes, in most cases, because they provide dependable protection while saving memory and processing power, making them a powerful solution for enterprises, as well. With many devices getting data from the same server, a single physical firewall can provide valuable and convenient security to many devices at the same time, saving an IT team time and effort.

Hardware firewalls can also protect a home network. When put between your modem and wireless router, they help stop attacks from reaching your family’s devices and can protect devices where you cannot install your favorite trusted software firewall. Instead of obtaining and managing multiple software firewalls, you can use one physical firewall to protect all the devices that use the network.

Fortinet firewalls exceed many of the benefits of common hardware firewalls. They have deeper inspection capabilities that better equip them to identify attacks, malware, and other threats. They also include paths for future updates, which allow them to adapt to the ever-changing landscape of internet threats.