FortiWeb Web 应用安全解决方案:Web 应用防火墙 (WAF)

高性能、全面的 Web 应用安全解决方案

适用于:
  • 设备
  • 虚拟机
  • 托管

FortiWeb 概述

未受到保护的 Web 应用程序是最容易被黑客侵入的端口,还容易受到各种类型的攻击。FortiWeb 的多层关联方法可保护您的 Web 应用程序免遭 OWASP 十大安全威胁等攻击。再结合 FortiGuard Labs 的 Web 应用安全服务,您将免受最新应用程序漏洞、僵尸网络、可疑 URL 的威胁,使用专门的启发式检测引擎,您的应用程序将可以防御诸如 SQL 注入、跨站点脚本编写、缓冲区溢出、Cookie 中毒、恶意来源和 DoS 攻击等复杂威胁。

 

FortiWeb 新闻

FortiWeb 软件版本 5.9.0

2018 年 3 月 19 日:FortiWeb 发布的 5.9 版软件拥有几个重要特征,如,在 Azure 上对 FortiWeb VM 提供按需支持、为 AV 提供 FTP 附件扫描以及沙盒威胁检测。 请查阅发行说明。 

 

适用于 Azure Marketplace 的 FortiWeb 按需购买版本

2018 年 3 月 12 日:FortiWeb 虚拟机现在可支持自带许可 (BYOL) 与按需(即用即付)购买。请查阅  Azure Marketplace 列表寻找 FortiWeb。

 

FortiWeb 视频

FortiWeb 产品详情

无论是简单满足合规标准还是为关键任务托管应用程序提供防护,FortiWeb 的 web 应用防火墙都能提供高级功能,防护 web 应用程序免受已知威胁和零日威胁。FortiWeb 采用高级多层关联方法为您的内外部 web 应用程序提供完整的安全防护,让您远离 OWASP 十大安全威胁和诸多其他威胁。FortiWeb 的核心是基于行为的检测引擎,可以智能检测偏离正常形式的威胁,在攻击者做出破坏前进行阻止。

 

   

功能与优点

checkmark icon

经验证的 Web 应用保护

FortiWeb 可防御 OWASP 十大安全威胁、DDoS 攻击以及诸多其他威胁,为您的关键任务 web 应用程序提供保护
intelligent icon

基于行为的检测

除了常规的签名更新和许多其他的防御层之外,FortiWeb 基于行为的应用学习可以检测到零日攻击
Icon security fabric

Security Fabric 安全架构集成

FortiGate 防火墙与 FortiSandbox 的集成可防御高级持续性威胁
analytics icon

高级可视分析

FortiWeb 的可视报告工具可提供对攻击来源、类型与其他元素的详细分析报告,此报告提供的见解是其他 WAF 解决方案无法提供的
icon benefits tools

减少误报工具 

这些高级工具最大程度地减少了对政策与异常列表的日常管理,以保证只有不受欢迎的流量被拒之门外
high performance icon

基于硬件的加速

FortiWeb 提供行业领先的受保护 WAF 吞吐量和快如闪电的安全流量加密/解密服务

FortiWeb 型号与规格


FortiWeb 有众多不同型号和各种不同形式,无论您是想要入门级的硬件设备还是可适应最新云环境的复杂 VM,都可以满足。

Throughput
2.5 Mbps
Ports
4x GE RJ45
Throughput
100 Mbps
Ports
4x GE RJ45、4x GE SFP
Throughput
250 Mbps
Ports
4x GE RJ45 (2x bypass)、4x GE SFP
Throughput
1 Gbps
Ports
2x GE SFP、6x GE RJ45(包括 4x bypass)
Throughput
1.3 Gbps
Ports
2x 10 GE SFP+、2x GE RJ45、4x GE RJ45 bypass、4x GE SFP
Throughput
2.5 Gbps
Ports
2x 10 GE SFP+、4x GE RJ45 bypass、4x GE SFP
Throughput
5 Gbps
Ports
4x 10 GE SFP+、8x GE RJ45 bypass、4x GE SFP
Throughput
20 Gbps
Ports
8x GE RJ45 bypass、4x GE SFP、2x 10G SFP+ bypass、2x 10G SFP+
Vmware、Microsoft Hyper-V、Citrix XenServer、Open Source Xen、KVM、Amazon Web Services (AWS) 与 Microsoft Azure。有关支持的版本,请查阅 FortiWeb VM 安装指南

Throughput
2.5 Mbps
vCPU
1
Throughput
100 Mbps
vCPU
2
Throughput
250 Mbps
vCPU
4
Throughput
1 Gbps
vCPU
8
实际的性能值可能因网络流量与系统配置而异。使用 Dell PowerEdge R710 服务器(2x Intel Xeon E5504 2.0 GHz 4 MB 高速缓冲内存)运行 VMware ESXi 5.5,4 vCPU 与 8 vCPU FortiWeb 虚拟设备分配 4 GB 的 vRAM,2 vCPU FortiWeb 虚拟设备分配 4 GB 的 vRAM,以查看其性能指标。
对于 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 与 Microsoft Azure,均支持 BYOL(自带许可)和按需计费(即用即付)。请参阅 AWS 与 Azure Marketplace 列表了解更多信息。
FortiWebCloud 是一款方便、易于部署且始终保持最新状态的 WAF。对于那些需要快速部署一个 WAF 并将维护维持在最低限度的机构组织而言,FortiWebCloud 可以在不用对硬件与软件进行管理的情况下自动缩放以满足流量的需求。FortiWebCloud 可提供 5 到 500 Mbps 的可堆叠带宽层,并允许您从 1 到 50 个站点中通过可堆叠订阅选择您所需要的站点数量。

如果您已经是 FortiWebCloud 的用户,请点击此处访问服务。 

适用于 FortiWeb 的 FortiGuard 安全服务

FortiWeb 采用多种 FortiGuard 安全服务来保护 Web 应用程序免受攻击。这些年度订阅可以单独购买,也可以与您的 FortiWeb 解决方案一起购买。

FG Web App

Web 应用安全

使用基于最新应用程序漏洞、僵尸网络、可疑 URL 模式和数据模式的信息以及专门的启发式检测引擎来保护您的 web 应用程序免受应用层的威胁。

FG AntiBotnet

IP 信誉和反僵尸网络

从 Fortinet 分布式威胁传感器网络、CERT、MITRE、进行合作的竞争对手以及其他全球资源收集恶意来源 IP 数据,合力提供关于敌对来源的最新威胁情报。

FG Antivirus

反病毒

阻断最新病毒、间谍软件以及其他内容层面的威胁。它采用行业领先的高级检测引擎来阻止不断变化的新威胁在您的网络中获得据点、访问网络中宝贵的内容。

Icon cloudsandbox

FortiCloud 沙盒

提供 FortiSandbox 硬件设备的替代部署选择。基于云服务,提供高级威胁的快速检测和自动响应。

Credential Stuffing Defense Icon

凭据填塞攻击防御

使用始终最新的被盗凭证信息来识别那些企图使用被盗用凭据进行登录的请求。

 

服务捆绑包

标准

为您的 web 应用程序提供核心防护服务,包括 Web 应用安全、IP 信誉和反僵尸网络解决方案以及杀毒服务。

高级

如果您想要最好的 web 应用安全保护,可以选择高级捆绑包,其中涵盖了标准捆绑包里所有的服务,外加 FortiCloud 沙盒服务以及凭据填塞攻击防御服务。

 

产品演示

product demo fortiweb

FortiWeb 演示

完整演示了解 FortiWeb Web 应用防火墙 (WAF) 的诸多功能。您将快速了解到如何让 FortiWeb 轻松地显示系统资源使用情况和攻击日志,以及通过易于使用的攻击控制台为您提供所需的一切。请务必留意综合性 Web 保护配置文件和深度报告。

Access the demo

2017 年 NSS Labs WAF 对比报告及安全价值图

FortiWeb 3000E 是特意针对 5 个主要的 WAF 竞争产品推出的。请点击下面的链接查看 FortiWeb 的执行情况

通用标准

Fortinet 的产品已获得基于 NDPP、EAL2+ 与 EAL4+ 的通用标准认证。通用标准的评估包含对产品或系统在安全方面的正式且严格的分析与测试。众多的测试活动涉及一个全面、正式、可重复的过程,以确认产品功能确如制造商所言。评估时还会对安全弱点以及潜在漏洞进行特别检测。有关 Fortinet 最新通用标准认证的更多信息如下所示:

经 ICSA Labs 验证的:反病毒、企业防火墙、IPsec、NIPS、SSL-TLS 以及 Web 应用防火墙

FortiGate 与 FortiWeb 产品在 6 个常见认证项目里都是根据 ICSA 标准进行的评估。ICSA Labs 管理和赞助着安全联盟,此联盟为安全产品的主要供应商提供一个可进行情报共享的论坛。另外,ICSA Labs 还发布调查、安全行业研究以及计算机安全产品买家指南。

2014 年 NSS Labs WAF 安全价值图

NSS Labs 在对 Web 应用防火墙的首次测试中报告称,对于每秒钟每个受保护的连接,FortiWeb-1000D 以 2.77 美元的总体拥有成本 (TCO) 达到了总体 99.85% 的阻拦率,以此在 Web 应用防火墙安全价值图中获得了 WAF“推荐”级地位。

FortiWeb 联盟合作伙伴


FortiWeb 提供了众多主要 IT 供应商的集成,以此作为 Fortinet Security Fabric 安全架构的一部分。以下是当前 FortiWeb 联盟合作伙伴列表:

金雅拓公司

金雅拓公司提供的产品组合是当今世界最完整的企业安全解决方案产品组合之一,它的用户在数字身份、交易、支付与数据上享受业界领先的从里到外的保护。

解决方案简介

惠普公司

惠普公司

惠普公司是一个处于行业领先地位的技术公司,能为它的用户们提供更先进、更迅捷的服务。惠普公司 (HPE) 拥有业界最全面的产品组合,它的技术与服务能给全世界的客户提供帮助,让 IT 变得更高效、更多产且更安全。

IBM Security

IBM

IBM Security 提供的企业安全产品与服务组合是市面上最先进、最集成化的组合之一。该组合能让机构高效管控风险并抵御新兴威胁。

科利斯公司

科利斯公司

科利斯公司是基于云的安全与合规解决方案的先驱与主要供应商,在 100 多个国家/地区拥有超过 8,800 名客户,其中包括福布斯全球百强榜和财富百强榜上的大多数公司。

解决方案简介

WhiteHat

WhiteHat

WhiteHat 将先进技术与其全球威胁研究中心 (TRC) 的专业技术相结合,提供了一套可以降低风险、减少成本以及加速安全应用程序和网站部署的应用安全解决方案。

解决方案简介

常见问题解答

IPS 或防火墙不能为基于 web 的托管应用程序提供防护?

下一代以及应用程序感知 IPS 防火墙扩展并加强了防护功能、新增了其他功能,但“应用程序感知”的主要功能还是专注于在内网客户端访问互联网时对其进行保护/限制,而不是保护内部应用程序免受外部威胁。而 Web 应用防火墙则不同,它们会保护内部 web 应用程序免受外部复杂的应用层攻击。它们提供主动和被动安全模型,并可抵御当今应用程序的主要威胁(SQL 注入、跨站点脚本编写、URL 访问、CSRF、注入攻击等等)。

我需要多大的 WAF?

决定 WAF 大小的因素有许多,请根据应用程序吞吐量、用户数量以及需保护的站点数量综合考虑。我们强烈建议您与 Fortinet 合作伙伴进行咨询,找到满足您需求的最佳选择。

FortiWeb Cloud 与内部 FortiWeb 部署有何区别?

FortiWeb Cloud 是一款“瘦身版”WAF 解决方案,提供被动安全模型规则;而 FortiWeb 平台则是完整版 WAF,主动和被动安全模型都有提供。大部分使用云 WAF 的客户是为了寻求一种无忧型解决方案,以便快速配置并使用,无需进行日常管理。FortiWeb Cloud 提供 FortiWeb 在内部提供的一部分功能,但采用简单、直接的配置与管理方式来满足这些需求。

如果我已经有一个安全网关 (SWG),我是否还需要一个 WAF?

需要。SWG 可防止组织内用户访问被感染的外部网站或者托管于组织外部的不良内容。WAF 则保护托管的基于 web 的应用程序免受外部攻击者发起的攻击。简单地说,就是 SWG 对用户进行保护,而 WAF 对应用程序进行保护。

FortiWeb WAF 与 WAF 在 ADC 上的对比

专用 WAF 设备不会降低性能,另外像 FortiWeb 这样的设备拥有处理能力,可以对应用程序攻击执行基于行为的检测。ADC 上的大部分 WAF 模块仅提供对应用程序的基本 WAF 防护。

FortiWeb 可以对应用程序漏洞进行永久性修复吗?

可以。在开发团队能对漏洞部署永久补丁之前,FortiWeb 可以提供应用程序临时补丁,或者对漏洞进行永久性修复。我们通常建议对一个已知漏洞进行永久修复,然而在许多情况下,这是不可能或不现实的,例如继承的应用程序或即将停用的旧应用程序。

FortiWeb: Web Application Firewall (WAF)

Comprehensive, High-Performance Web Application Security

Gartner 2018 Magic Quadrant for Web Application Firewalls
Available in:
  • Appliance
  • Virtual Machine
  • Hosted
  • Cloud
  • Container

FortiWeb Overview

Unprotected web applications are the easiest point of entry for hackers and vulnerable to a number of attack types. FortiWeb’s AI-enhanced and multi-layered approach protects your web apps from the OWASP Top 10 and more. When combined with our Web Application Security Service from FortiGuard Labs you’re protected from the latest application vulnerabilities, bots, and suspicious URLs, and with dual machine learning detection engines your applications are safe from sophisticated threats such as SQL injection, cross-site scripting, buffer overflows, cookie poisoning, malicious sources, and DoS attacks.

 

FortiWeb News

Choosing a WAF Solution? Third-Party Evaluations can Help

9/10/18: In today's new digital business model, consumers and employees both require immediate access to data and resources using a growing number of endpoint devices. Read the blog.

 

FortiWeb Launches New Virtual Appliances for Container-based Environments

8/28/2018: Today we introduced the FortiWeb 6.0.1 software release with new versions of FortiWeb virtual appliances for container-based environments.  Read the blog.

 

Fortinet Introduces Machine Learning Capabilities to FortiWeb Web Application Firewall for Advanced Behavioral Threat Detection

6/5/2018: Two-step AI-based Machine Learning Improves Attack Detection Accuracy to Create a Nearly “Set and Forget” Web Application Firewall. Read the press release.

 

FortiWeb Videos

Fortinet Web Application Security

Dynamic patching of web-based applications to defend against threats that target known and unknown vulnerabilities.

Watch Now
FortiWeb 6.0 with AI-Base Machine Learning
Protecting Web Applications with FortiWeb

FortiWeb Product Details

Whether to simply meet compliance standards or to protect mission-critical hosted applications, FortiWeb's web application firewalls provide advanced features that defend web applications from known and zero-day threats. Using an advanced multi-layered and correlated approach, FortiWeb provides complete security for your external and internal web-based applications from the OWASP Top 10 and many other threats. At the heart of FortiWeb are its dual-layer AI-based detection engines that intelligently detect threats with nearly no false positive detections.

 

   

Features and Benefits

checkmark icon

Proven Web Application Protection

FortiWeb protects against all the OWASP Top-10 threats, DDoS attacks and many others to defend your mission critical web-based applications
icon artificial intelligent

AI-based Threat Detection

In addition to regular signature updates and many other layers of defenses, FortiWeb’s AI-based, dual-layer machine learning engines protect against zero-day attacks
Icon security fabric

Security Fabric Integration

Integration with FortiGate firewalls and FortiSandbox deliver protection from advanced persistent threats
analytics icon

Advanced Visual Analytics

FortiWeb’s visual reporting tools provide detailed analyses of attack sources, types and other elements that provide insights not available with other WAF solutions 
icon benefits tools

False Positive Mitigation Tools 

Advanced tools that minimize the day-to-day management of policies and exception lists to ensure only unwanted traffic is blocked
high performance icon

Hardware-based Acceleration

FortiWeb delivers industry-leading protected WAF throughputs and blazing fast secure traffic encryption/decryption

FortiWeb Models and Specifications


FortiWeb web application firewall is available in many different form factors with many different models to choose from to meet your needs ranging from entry-level hardware appliances to sophisticated VM options that be incorporated into latest cloud environments.

Throughput
25 Mbps
Ports
4x GE RJ45
Throughput
100 Mbps
Ports
4x GE RJ45, 4x GE SFP
Throughput
250 Mbps
Ports
4x GE RJ45 (2x bypass), 4x GE SFP
Throughput
1 Gbps
Ports
2x GE SFP, 6x GE RJ45 (includes 4x bypass)
Throughput
1.3 Gbps
Ports
2x 10 GE SFP+, 2x GE RJ45, 4x GE RJ45 bypass, 4x GE SFP
Throughput
2.5 Gbps
Ports
2x 10 GE SFP+, 4x GE RJ45 bypass, 4x GE SFP
Throughput
5 Gbps
Ports
4x 10 GE SFP+, 8x GE RJ45 bypass, 4x GE SFP
Throughput
20 Gbps
Ports
8x GE RJ45 bypass, 4x GE SFP, 2x 10G SFP+ bypass, 2x 10G SFP+
VMware, Microsoft Hyper-V, Citrix XenServer, Open Source Xen, KVM, Amazon Web Services (AWS) and Microsoft Azure. Please see FortiWeb VM Installation Guide for versions supported.

Throughput
25 Mbps
vCPU
1
Throughput
100 Mbps
vCPU
2
Throughput
500 Mbps
vCPU
4
Throughput
2 Gbps
vCPU
8
Actual performance values may vary depending on the network traffic and system configuration. Performance metrics were observed using a Dell PowerEdge R710 server (2x Intel Xeon E5504 2.0 GHz 4 MB Cache) running VMware ESXi 5.5 with 4 GB of vRAM assigned to the 4 vCPU and 8 vCPU FortiWeb Virtual Appliance and 4 GB of vRAM assigned to the 2 vCPU FortiWeb Virtual Appliance.
Amazon Web Services (AWS) and Microsoft Azure supported for both BYOL (bring your own license) and On-demand (pay-as-you go). Please see the AWS and Azure Marketplace listings for more information:
FortiWebCloud is a convenient and easy-to-deploy WAF that’s always up-to-date. For organizations that need to quickly deploy a WAF and keep maintenance to a minimum, FortiWebCloud scales to meet traffic demands without the hassles of managing hardware and software. FortiWebCloud offers stackable bandwidth tiers from 5 to 500 Mbps, and allows you to choose the number of sites you need with stackable subscriptions ranging from 1 to 50 sites.
 
If you are an existing FortiWebCloud customer, please click here to access the service.
Throughput
25 Mbps
Throughput
100 Mbps
Throughput
500 Mbps
Throughput
2 Gbps

Throughputs and other metrics are maximum values permitted for each version. Actual performance values may vary depending on the network traffic and system configuration.

FortiGuard Security Services for FortiWeb

FortiWeb employs multiple FortiGuard security services to protect web applications from attack. These annual subscriptions can be purchased a la carte or as part of a bundle with your FortiWeb solution.

FG Web App

Web Application Security

Uses information based on the latest application vulnerabilities, bots, suspicious URL patterns and data-type patterns, machine learning threat models, and specialized heuristic detection engines, to ensure your web applications remain safe from application-layer threats.

FG AntiBotnet

IP Reputation & Anti-botnet

Aggregates malicious source IP data from the Fortinet distributed network of threat sensors, CERTs, MITRE, cooperative competitors, and other global sources that collaborate to provide up-to-date threat intelligence about hostile sources.

FG Antivirus

Antivirus

Protects against the latest viruses, spyware, and other content-level threats. It uses industry-leading advanced detection engines to prevent both new and evolving threats from gaining a foothold inside your network and accessing its invaluable content.

Icon cloudsandbox

FortiCloud Sandbox

Offers an alternate deployment option to the FortiSandbox hardware appliance. It delivers the same rapid detection and automated response, but in the cloud.

Credential Stuffing Defense Icon

Credential Stuffing Defense

Identifies login attempts using credentials that have been compromised using an always up-to-date feed of stolen credentials.

 

Service Bundles

Standard

Protection that provides the core services for protecting your web-based applications that includes Web Application Security, IP Reputation & Anti-botnet, and Antivirus.

Advanced

When you want the best in web application security protection, the Advanced bundle includes all the services in the Standard bundle, plus FortiCloud Sandbox and Credential Stuffing Defense.

 

Product Demo

product demo fortiweb

FortiWeb Demo

This full working demo lets you explore the many features of our FortiWeb Web Application Firewall (WAF). You’ll quickly see how FortiWeb easily displays system resource utilization and attack logs, and gives you everything you need in the easy-to-use attack console. Be sure to check out our comprehensive web protection profiles and in-depth reporting.

Access the demo

NSS Labs WAF Comparative Reports 2017 and SVM

The FortiWeb 3000E was put up against 5 leading WAF competitors. Please visit the link below to see how FortiWeb performed

Common Criteria

Fortinet products have received NDPP, EAL2+, and EAL4+ based Common Criteria certifications. Common Criteria evaluations involve formal rigorous analysis and testing to examine security aspects of a product or system. Extensive testing activities involve a comprehensive and formally repeatable process, confirming that the security product functions as claimed by the manufacturer. Security weaknesses and potential vulnerabilities are specifically examined during an evaluation. More information on the latest Fortinet Common Criteria Certifications are available below:

ICSA Labs Certified: Antivirus, Corporate Firewall, IPsec, NIPS, SSL-TLS, and Web Application Firewall

FortiGate and FortiWeb products are evaluated against ICSA criteria in 6 popular Certification programs. ICSA Labs manages and sponsors security consortia that provides a forum for intelligence sharing among the leading vendors of security products. In addition, ICSA Labs publishes surveys, security industry studies, and buyer's guides for computer security products.

NSS Labs WAF 2014 SVM

In its first-ever web application firewall testing, NSS Labs reported that the FortiWeb-1000D achieved an overall block rate of 99.85% at $2.77 TCO per protected connection per second that earned the WAF “Recommended” status in their Web Application Firewall Security Value Map.

FortiWeb Ecosystem

FortiWeb provides integration with many leading IT vendors as part of the Fortinet Security Fabric. Below is a list of current FortiWeb Alliance Partners:

Gemalto
Gemalto

Gemalto offers one of the most complete portfolios of enterprise security solutions in the world, enabling its customers to enjoy industry-leading protection of digital identities, transactions, payments, and data – from the edge to the core.

Solution brief

Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Hewlett Packard Enterprise

Hewlett Packard Enterprise is an industry-leading technology company that enables customers to go further, faster. With the industry’s most comprehensive portfolio, HPE's technology and services help customers around the world make IT more efficient, more productive, and more secure.

IBM
IBM

IBM Security offers one of the most advanced and integrated portfolios of enterprise security products and services. The portfolio enables organizations to effectively manage risk and defend against emerging threats.

Qualys
Qualys

Qualys, Inc. is a pioneer and leading provider of cloud-based security and compliance solutions with over 8,800 customers in more than 100 countries, including a majority of each of the Forbes Global 100 and Fortune 100.

Solution brief

WhiteHat
WhiteHat

Combining advanced technology with the expertise of its global Threat Research Center (TRC) team, WhiteHat delivers application security solutions that reduce risk, reduce cost, and accelerate the deployment of secure applications and websites.

Solution brief

FAQs

Can’t an IPS or Firewall provide protection for hosted web-based applications?

Next Generation and Application Aware IPS firewalls extend and enhance protection and add additional functionality but the majority of the ‘application aware’ functionality is focused on securing/restricting internal clients when accessing the internet but not securing internal applications from external threats. Web Application Firewalls are different as they protect internal web applications from sophisticated application layer external attacks. They provide both a positive and negative security model and protect against the major threats to applications today (SQL Injection, Cross Site Scripting, URL Access, CSRF, Injection attacks and more).

Why is FortiWeb’s AI-based Machine Learning threat detection superior to other threat detection methods?

Other vendors use application learning using an observational method to automate profile creation for web-based application protection. Application learning is a good detection method, but it has many drawbacks. These include:

  • high false-positive detections
  • labor-intensive to fine tune
  • unobserved legitimate traffic creates anomalies
  • aggressive tuning lets attacks slip through more easily
  • changes to the application require substantial re-learning to prevent false-positive detections

FortiWeb’s behavioral detection uses two layers of AI-based machine learning and statistical probabilities to detect anomalies and threats separately. With machine learning FortiWeb is able to deliver near 100% application threat detection accuracy with virtually no resources required to manage it. AI-based machine learning for FortiWeb creates nearly a “set and forget” web application firewall that doesn’t sacrifice accuracy for ease of management.    

What size WAF do I need?

There are many factors that determine WAF sizing ranging from application throughput, numbers of users, and number of sites to be protected. We strongly recommend discussing your requirements with a Fortinet Partner to find the best option to meet your needs.

How does FortiWeb Cloud differ from an on-prem FortiWeb deployment?

FortiWeb Cloud is a ‘skinny’ WAF solution offering negative security model rules while the FortiWeb platform is a full blown WAF offering both positive and negative security models. Most customers using a Cloud WAF are looking for a set-it-and-forget type solution that they can quickly configure and use without having to manage daily. By offering a subset of what FortiWeb on-prem offers but with a simple, straightforward configuration and management FortiWeb Cloud addresses these requirements.

Do I need a WAF if I already have a Secure Web Gateway (SWG)?

Yes. A SWG protects users within the organization from accessing infected external websites or undesirable content hosted outside of the organization. A WAF protects hosted web-based applications from attacks that are initiated by external attackers. A simplified view is the SWGs protect users and WAFs protect applications.

FortiWeb WAF vs. WAF in an ADC

A dedicated WAF appliance will not decrease performance, plus an appliance like FortiWeb has the processing power to perform behavior-based detection of application attacks. Most WAF modules on ADCs offer only basic WAF protection for applications.

Can a FortiWeb permanently patch application vulnerabilities?

Yes it can. FortiWeb can provide temporary application patching until development teams are able deploy permanent patches for vulnerabilities, or it can permanently patch them. It is usually recommended to permanently fix a known vulnerability, however there are many situations where that isn’t possible or practical, such as inherited applications or older applications that are about to be retired.