Sécurité du cloud privé

Le meilleur des performances et de la protection de données via un pare-feu virtuel nouvelle-génération

Magic Quadrant 2018 de Gartner pour les pare-feux d’entreprise
Disponibles en:
  • Machine Virtuelle

Cloud privé - Synthèse

Votre data center virtualisé exige une protection évoluée contre des menaces en forte évolution, identifiées ou inconnues.  FortiGate-VM, le format virtualisé de notre pare-feu nouvelle-génération FortiGate, protège le trafic entrant/sortant et interne, au sein des data centers virtualisés et dans le cloud.  FortiGate-VM est compatible avec les principaux hyperviseurs du marché, et avec de nombreuses plateformes de cloud public ou privé (AWS, Azure, Cisco, Google, IBM, Nuage Networks, OpenStack, Oracle et VMware).  Basé sur le système d'exploitation FortiOS et les services de veille sur les menaces FortiGuard, le pare-feu virtuel FortiGate offre des performances de premier rang, une protection en profondeur du trafic de votre data center, ainsi qu'une interface unifiée pour gérer votre réseau physique et virtualisé.

 

Cloud privé - Actualités

22/05/2018 : Fortinet étend le périmètre du programme partenaire Fabric-Ready avec les Fabric Connectors.  Les Fabric Connectors assurent une intégration ouverte et simple avec les technologies des partenaires d'alliance pour automatiser les opérations de sécurité, l'application des règles et les processus DevOps.   

 

23/05/2018 : Une sécurité de bout en bout exige une automatisation au sein des environnements hétérogènes.   Pour simplifier l'utilisation d'outils de sécurité provenant de constructeurs multiples, mais aussi intégrer la sécurité au cœur des processus de développement, Fortinet propose ses Fabric Connectors et l'intégration DevOps.

 

22/05/2018 : Fortinet Fabric Connectors : Pour une intégration étroite des solutions tierces au sein de la Security Fabric. 

 

   

Cloud privé - Vidéos

Transforming Network Security with FortiGate VMX
Fortinet Fabric Connector - FortiGate VMX and VMWare NSX

Cloud privés - Descriptif produit

Le pare-feu nouvelle-génération FortiGate-VM accélère le déploiement de ses services et assure une protection évoluée contre les menaces, pour votre réseau virtualisé et vos environnements cloud.  Les services FortiGuard activent une sécurité multicouche des applications et des données critiques au sein de votre data center virtualisé, neutralisant ainsi la prolifération des malwares en interne.  L'intégration et l'orchestration avec les principales plateformes SDN (Cisco ACI, Nuage Networks VSP et VMware NSX) permettent d'inspecter et de micro-segmenter le trafic inter-VM. FortiManager propose une interface unifiée pour gérer et sécuriser les appliances physiques et virtuelles, simplifier les déploiements, activer des règles de sécurité cohérentes et assurer un contrôle et une visibilité détaillés.  La sécurité virtualisée de Fortinet comprend FortiGate-VM, ainsi que des appliances pour les nombreux services de sécurité et réseau offerts par FortiOS.

 

Fonctionnalités et avantages

top rate icon

Une protection multicouche optimale grâce aux services de sécurité FortiGuard, testés et validés par NSS Labs, Virus Bulletin et AV-Comparatives

icon benefits tools

Compatible avec les principales plateformes d’hyperviseur, cloud et SDN

 

 

visibility icon

ROI maximal et système de licence et de provisioning souple et adapté à une utilisation à la demande

 

cloud ready icon

Haute performance et protection sophistiquée contre les menaces pour assurer l'agilité et l'élasticité des charges de travail, mais sans freiner la sécurité

icon benefits secure choice

Segmente et protège les ressources virtuelles via une micro-segmentation et un contrôle granulaire des applications, dispositifs et utilisateurs.

simple icon

Renforcement de l'architecture multi-tenant, provisioning et dimensionnement automatiques des VM pour répondre de manière économique à la demande pour de nouveaux services

 

Pour en savoir davantage sur les Fabric Connectors

Fabric Connectors :

 

Les Fabric Connectors de Fortinet favorisent une intégration ouverte de la Security Fabric avec les clouds privés et les réseaux SDN, les clouds publics et de nombreuses plateformes technologiques de partenaires. Simples à télécharger et à déployer, les Fabric Connectors automatisent et synchronisent la sécurité sur les environnements hétérogènes, simplifient les opérations de gestion et pallient les carences de sécurité.  

Les Fabric Connectors pour les clouds privés et les SDN sont les suivants : 

 

Modèles et spécifications des pare-feux virtuels nouvelle-génération FortiGate

Les pare-feux nouvelle-génération FortiGate se déploient en tant qu'appliances virtuelles au sein des environnements cloud privés et publics, en mode BYOL ou activé/utilisé à la demande via la marketplace des clouds publics. 

Throughput
12 Gbps
vCPU
1x vCPU core, (up to) 2 GB RAM
Throughput
12 Gbps
vCPU
1x vCPU core, (up to) 2 GB RAM
Throughput
15 Gbps
vCPU
2x vCPU cores, (up to) 4 GB RAM
Throughput
28 Gbps
vCPU
4x vCPU cores, (up to) 6 GB RAM
Throughput
33 Gbps
vCPU
8x vCPU cores, (up to) 12 GB RAM
Throughput
36 Gbps
vCPU
16x vCPU cores, (up to) 24 GB RAM
Throughput
50 Gbps
vCPU
32x vCPU cores, (up to) 48 GB RAM
vCPU
Unlimited vCPU cores and RAM

Les VM de la gamme "V" ne disposent pas de licence VDOM par défaut.  Ces licences VDOM peuvent être rajoutées séparément.

Les performances réelles peuvent être différentes selon la configuration système et réseau. Les performances ont été mesurées sur un DELL R740 (processeur Intel Xeon Platinum 8168 2,7 GHz, cartes réseau Intel X710) équipé de FortiOS v5.6.3. Testées avec VMware vSphere 6.5 Enterprise Plus. SR-IOV activé


FortiGate-VM déploie une sécurité évoluée et intégrale, à l'intention des principales plateformes de cloud public (AWS, Azure, Google, Oracle et IBM), et proposée en mode BYOL (bring your own license) ou à la demande (facturation à l'utilisation).  Pour en savoir davantage sur le pare-feu nouvelle-génération FortiGate-VM pour les clouds publics :

Services FortiGuard

Les services FortiGuard pour FortiGate-VM vous permettent de déployer des fonctions de sécurité et de rémédiation essentielles au sein de votre infrastructure virtualisée, pour une protection du trafic entrant/sortant et en interne. 

FG Application Control

Contrôle applicatif

Améliorez votre sécurité et assurez votre conformité en appliquant votre politique d’utilisation acceptable. Vous disposez d'une visibilité en temps réel sur les applications exécutées par vos utilisateurs. Avec FortiGuard Contrôle applicatif, vous pouvez rapidement créer des règles qui autorisent, interdisent ou limitent l’accès aux applications ou catégories d’applications.

FG Web Filtering

Filtrage Web

Protégez votre organisation en neutralisant l’accès aux sites Web malveillants, piratés ou inappropriés, à l’aide du filtrage web de FortiGuard.

Icon cloudsandbox

FortiSandbox Cloud

Le service cloud FortiSandbox détecte les menaces avancées, via une analyse dynamique qui identifie les programmes malveillants inconnus. La veille décisionnelle générée par FortiCloud Sandbox est mise à disposition de l'ensemble des fonctions de sécurité du réseau, pour lutter plus efficacement contre les menaces.

FG Antivirus

Anti-virus

Le service anti-virus FortiGuard assure la protection contre les virus et logiciels espions les plus récents, et contre les menaces au niveau du contenu. La solution utilise des moteurs de détection avancée pour empêcher que les attaques, nouvelles ou en évolution, ne pénètrent sur votre réseau et n'accèdent aux ressources de valeur.

Product Category Thumb SS security audit

Désinfection du contenu/Reconstruction

Désinfection du contenu/Reconstruction (CDR) extrait le contenu actif des fichiers en temps réel, pour créer un fichier plat sain. Tous les contenus actifs sont considérés comme suspects et retirés. CDR traite tous les fichiers entrants, les démantèle et extrait tous les composants transgressant les règles de pare-feu.

FG Intrusion Prevention

Prévention d’intrusion

FortiGuard prévention d’intrusion assure la protection contre les intrusions réseau les plus récentes, en détectant et en bloquant les attaques en amont des dispositifs réseau.

Security Rating Service icon

Service niveau de sécurité

Le service niveau de sécurité permet aux clients de concevoir, déployer et pérenniser un niveau de sécurité adapté à l'organisation protégée. La Security Fabric capitalise sur les meilleures pratiques pour que les équipes de sécurité identifient les vulnérabilités critiques et les erreurs de configuration au sein de la Security Fabric, puis procèdent à la mise en œuvre des préconisations.

icon product menu cloud access security broker

FortiCASB

FortiCASB est un service cloud CASB (Cloud Access Security Broker), proposé sur abonnement, conçu pour offrir aux organisations visibilité, conformité, sécurité des données et protection contre les menaces pour les services cloud utilisés. FortiCASB, compatible avec les principaux fournisseurs de services SaaS, offre une visibilité sur les utilisateurs, les comportements et les données stockées dans le cloud, grâce à un reporting exhaustif.

FG AntiBotnet

Réputation des IP & sécurité anti-botnet

Le service de réputation des adresses IP FortiGuard agrège les données des IP de sources malveillantes à partir du réseau multisite de Fortinet, constitué de capteurs de menaces, CERT, MITRE, concurrents coopératifs et autres sources globales : les informations sur les sources hostiles sont ainsi actualisées. Les informations en quasi-temps réel provenant de différentes passerelles réseau, associées aux recherches des FortiGuard Labs à l'échelle mondiale renforcent la sécurité des organisations et neutralisent les attaques de façon proactive.

FG Mobile Security

Mobile Security

Le service de sécurité mobile de Fortinet offre une protection efficace contre les attaques les plus récentes sur les dispositifs mobiles. Ce service utilise des moteurs de détection de premier plan pour neutraliser les attaques, nouvelles ou existantes, en amont du réseau, et ainsi protéger les ressources de valeur.

Industrial Control systems icon

Systèmes de contrôle industriels

FortiGuard systèmes de contrôle industriels met à jour en continu les signatures de sécurité pour identifier et surveiller la plupart des protocoles utilisés en environnement industriel (systèmes de contrôle et SCADA), avec visibilité et contrôle à la clé. Des fonctions spécifiques de protection des vulnérabilités sont fournies pour les applications et services des principaux constructeurs de systèmes de contrôle industriel.

FG AntiSpam

Anti-spam

La solution anti-spam de FortiGuard adopte une approche intégrale et multicouche pour détecter et filtrer les courriers indésirables reçus par les entreprises. La technologie de détection en deux passages réduit le volume de courrier indésirable en périphérie du réseau, et vous apporte un contrôle optimal sur les attaques et les infections par e-mail.

 

Packs de services FortiGuard  pour FortiGate

Pack de protection pour entreprise
La protection nécessaire pour contrer les menaces avancées actuelles. Elle offre tous les services de sécurité FortiGuard disponibles pour FortiGate, y compris : un contrôle applicatif et un IPS fournis par le pare-feu NGFW, un filtrage web, FortiCloud Sandbox, un anti-virus, la sécurité mobile, la réputation des IP, ainsi qu'un anti-botnet, un anti-spam et des services de sécurité FortiCare, avec un support en 8x5 ou 24x7 au choix.

Pack de protection UTM
Offre les services de sécurité UTM traditionnels, dont le contrôle applicatif et l'IPS, le filtrage Web, l'antivirus, l'anti-spam et les services de sécurité FortiCare, avec un support en 8x5 ou 24x7 au choix.

Pack de protection contre les menaces 
Les technologies de protection sont les suivantes : contrôle applicatif, IPS, anti-virus, anti-botnets, réputation des IP et domaines et services contre les malwares mobiles. Les services de sécurité FortiCare proposent un support en 24x7. 

Product Demo

product demo fortigate vm

FortiGate-VM Demo

FortiGate-VM is a full-featured FortiGate packaged as a virtual appliance. FortiGate-VM virtual appliance is ideal for monitoring and enforcing virtual traffic on leading virtualization, cloud, and SDN platforms including VMware vSphere, Hyper-V, Xen, KVM, and AWS. FortiGate-VM can be orchestrated in software-defined environments to provide agile and elastic network security services to virtual workloads. Through this demo, you can see how to deploy firewall, intrusion prevention, VPN, antivirus, and other consolidated security functions to virtual workloads, as well as evaluate the easy-to-use web interface and contextual displays.

Access the demo

SDN and Private Cloud Ecosystem

ADVA Optical Networking
ADVA Optical Networking

At ADVA Optical Networking, we're creating a new vision for a more connected world. Our award-winning network functions virtualization (NFV) solutions provide our customers with unprecedented choice and flexibility. Our ADVA Ensemble solution suite provides a comprehensive NFV architecture that includes programmable hardware, comprehensive software and end-to-end orchestration solutions.

Solution brief

Cisco
Cisco

Cisco is the worldwide leader in IT that helps companies seize the opportunities of tomorrow by proving that amazing things can happen when you connect the previously unconnected.

Cloudify
Cloudify

Cloudify specializes in IT operations automation technology that manages application and network services through open orchestration. The company’s award-winning Cloudify software enhances the velocity and reliability of software deployment, lifecycle management and network functions in cloud-native environments.

Solution brief

Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Hewlett Packard Enterprise

Hewlett Packard Enterprise is an industry-leading technology company that enables customers to go further, faster. With the industry’s most comprehensive portfolio, HPE's technology and services help customers around the world make IT more efficient, more productive, and more secure.

Nuage Networks
Nuage Networks

Nuage Networks, a Nokia Corp subsidiary, brings a unique combination of groundbreaking technologies and unmatched networking expertise to the enterprise and telecommunications industries.

Solution brief

VMware
VMware

VMware is a global leader in cloud infrastructure and business mobility.

Alliance solutions leverage the following to integrate with the Fortinet Security Fabric:

Fabric AI Icon

APIs (Application Programming Interfaces).

DevOps Icon

DevOps scripts and tools.

Fabric Connector Icon

Fabric Connectors.

FAQs

Quelles sont les différences entre FortiGate-VM (machine virtuelle) et le pare-feu matériel FortiGate ?

FortiGate-VM est la version du pare-feu matériel FortiGate, restitué dans un format d'appliance virtuelle.  FortiGate-VM bénéficie de FortiOS et offre les mêmes services FortiGuard de veille sur les menaces que les modèles matériels, mais dans un format virtuel.  FortiGate-VM offre des licences et un provisioning flexibles pour les réseaux virtuels. 

Quels sont les avantages de l'appliance virtuelle FortiGate par rapport aux autres plateformes du marché ?

Fortinet est un leader de la sécurité des environnements physiques et virtuels.  Nous nous différencions sur les points suivants :

  • leader dans le Magic Quadrant 2018 de Gartner pour les pare-feux d’entreprise 
  • Des services de sécurité et réseau fournis à partir d'appliances virtuelles 
  • Intégré avec la Security Fabric pour offrir une protection élargie et automatisée, de l'IoT jusqu'au cloud   
  • Les domaines virtuels améliorent l'architecture multi-tenant.
  • Performances et évolutivité supérieures par rapport aux pare-feux virtuels disponibles à ce jour  
  • Les services de sécurité FortiGuard les plus exhaustifs du marché
  • Les Fabric Connectors assurent l'automatisation de la sécurité au sein des réseaux hybrides.

Quels sont les différents types d'appliances virtuelles proposées par Fortinet ?

Fortinet offre de nombreux services de sécurité et réseau fournis à partir d'appliances virtuelles.  Au-delà de FortiGate-VM, les appliances virtuelles suivantes sont proposées :

  • FortiManager-VM
  • FortiAnalyzer-VM
  • FortiSIEM-VM
  • FortiWeb-VM
  • FortiMail-VM
  • FortiSandbox-VM

Comment les domaines virtuels (VDOM) améliorent-ils l'architecture multi-tenant de FortiGate-VM ?

La fonction VDOM dans FortiGate-VM permet à chaque VM de partager ses ressources et fonctions pour constituer de multiples pare-feux indépendants disposant de règles et de fonctions de sécurité distinctes.  Ceci permet d'activer un environnement multi-tenant au sein d'une seule VM, avec application de règles granulaires et spécifiques à chaque VDOM. Vous tirez pleinement parti d'économies d'échelle tout en maîtrisant vos coûts.

Comment sélectionner le modèle FortiGate-VM adapté à mes besoins ?

FortiGate-VM est proposé pour un large panel d'hyperviseurs, de SDN et de plateformes cloud, et avec des modèles vCPU différents. Les performances sont adaptées aux besoins des réseaux virtuels cibles.  Merci de consulter la fiche technique pour davantage d'informations. 

Est-il possible de tester FortiGate-VM ?

Oui, bien sûr.  Nous vous encourageons à assister à la démo de FortiGate-VM pour découvrir le riche panel des pare-feux virtuels FortiGate, comprendre le déploiement des fonctions de pare-feu, de prévention des intrusions, de VPN et d'antivirus, et comment appliquer d'autres fonctions de sécurité consolidées aux charges de travail virtuelles. Vous découvrirez également une interface Web particulièrement simple d'utilisation.  Pour télécharger la version d'évaluation gratuite de FortiGate-VM, merci de contacter l'équipe commerciale de Fortinet.

Private Cloud Security

Industry's Best Threat Protection and Performance in a Virtual NGFW

Gartner 2017 Magic Quadrant Enterprise Firewalls
Available in:
  • Virtual Machine

Private Cloud Overview

Your virtualized data center assets needs advanced protection from evolving threats, both known and unknown.  FortiGate-VM is a virtualized form factor of our market leading, high performance FortiGate next-generation firewall that delivers advanced protection for north-south and east-west traffic in virtualized data centers and cloud.  FortiGate-VM supports the leading hypervisor technologies, and a range of private and public cloud platforms, including AWS, Azure, Cisco, Google, IBM, Nuage Networks, OpenStack, Oracle, and VMware.  Based on the powerful FortiOS operating system and FortiGuard Threat Intelligence services, FortiGate virtual NGFW delivers industry leading performance and layered threat protection of your virtualized data center traffic, with a single pane-of-glass to manage your physical and virtual network.

 

Private Cloud News

8/23/2018: Fireside Chat with School District of Philadelphia: Securing virtual servers, Chromebooks and student data while saving six figures. The eighth-largest public school district in the United States discusses modernizing their data center to achieve end to end segmentation, higher security and compliance.

 

8/24/2018: How One School District is Blazing the Trail to Digital Transformation: Security up, costs down in a blended data center deployment with physical and virtual FortiGates and VMware NSX.

 

5/22/2018: Fortinet Fabric Connectors: Fortinet expands Fabric-Ready partner program with new Fabric Connectors to automate security for multi-vendor environments.  

 

   

Private Cloud Videos

Transforming Network Security with FortiGate VMX
Fortinet Fabric Connector - FortiGate VMX and VMWare NSX

Private Cloud Product Details

FortiGate-VM next-generation firewall enables rapid service deployment with advanced threat protection for your virtual network and cloud.  FortiGuard services provide layered protection of mission critical applications and data in your virtualized data center, effectively blocking lateral movement of malware.  Out-of-the-box integration and orchestration with leading SDN platforms such as Cisco ACI, Nuage Networks VSP and VMware NSX, enables micro-segmentation with east-west traffic traffic inspection to protect virtual assets. FortiManager provides a single pane-of-glass to manage and secure physical and virtual appliances, simplify deployment, and enable consistent security policies with granular control and visibility.  Fortinet virtual security includes FortiGate-VM, and virtual appliances for many of the security and networking services offered in FortiOS.

 

Features and Benefits

top rate icon

Top-rated layered protection with FortiGuard security services independently tested by NSS Labs, Virus Bulletin, and AV-Comparatives

icon benefits tools

Support for all major hypervisor, SDN and cloud platforms

 

 

visibility icon

Unmatched ROI, flexible licensing and provisioning to support on-demand consumption

 

cloud ready icon

Combination of high performance and advanced threat protection delivers workload agility and elasticity without compromising security

icon benefits secure choice

Segments and protects virtual assets with micro-segmentation and granular control of applications, devices, and users

simple icon

Enhanced multi-tenancy capability, auto-provisioning and auto-scaling of VMs to cost effectively meet demand for new services

 

Learn more about Fabric Connectors

Fabric Connectors:

 

Fortinet Fabric Connectors deliver open integration of Security Fabric with SDN/private cloud, public cloud and multiple partner technology platforms. Easy to download and deploy, Fabric Connectors automate security synchronization across multi-vendor environments, reduce the security management burden, and close security gaps.  

Fabric Connectors for Private Cloud/SDN include: 

 

FortiGate Virtual Next-generation Firewall Models and Specifications

FortiGate-VM next-generation firewall can be deployed as a virtual appliance in private and public cloud environments, either as a BYOL instance or provisioned on-demand via public cloud marketplaces. 

Throughput
12 Gbps
vCPU
1x vCPU core, (up to) 2 GB RAM
Throughput
12 Gbps
vCPU
1x vCPU core, (up to) 2 GB RAM
Throughput
15 Gbps
vCPU
2x vCPU cores, (up to) 4 GB RAM
Throughput
28 Gbps
vCPU
4x vCPU cores, (up to) 6 GB RAM
Throughput
33 Gbps
vCPU
8x vCPU cores, (up to) 12 GB RAM
Throughput
36 Gbps
vCPU
16x vCPU cores, (up to) 24 GB RAM
Throughput
50 Gbps
vCPU
32x vCPU cores, (up to) 48 GB RAM
vCPU
Unlimited vCPU cores and RAM

“V” Series VMs do not include VDOM licenses by default.  VDOM licenses can be added separately.

Actual performance may vary depending on the network and system configuration. Performance metrics were observed using a DELL R740 (CPU Intel Xeon Platinum 8168 2.7 GHz, Intel X710 network adapters), running FOS v5.6.3. Tested with VMware vSphere 6.5 Enterprise Plus. SR-IOV is enabled.

FortiGate-VMX for VMware NSX delivers automated deployment of advanced security and micro-segmentation in virtualized environments.   FortiGate-VMX secures workloads in dynamic NSX software-defined data centers to enable protection and close compliance gaps.

vCPU Support
1/Unlimited
Memory Support (minimum/maximum)
1 GB/Unlimited
Virtual Domains (Default/Maximum)
10/250
FW throughput with App Control(1)
3.1 Gbps
Threat protection throughput (2)
1.4 Gbps
New sessions per second
30,000
FW throughput with App Control(1)
5.3 Gbps
Threat protection throughput (2)
2.3 Gbps
New sessions per second
30,000
Note: All performance values are “up to” and vary depending on system configuration. Specification is measured on a Dell PowerEdge R630 server, 14 cores Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2630v4 @ 2.60 GHz with VMware ESXi 6.0.0. (1). Application Control performance is measured with 64 Kbytes HTTP traffic. (2). Threat Protection performance is measured with IPS and Application Control and Malware protection enabled, based on Enterprise Traffic Mix.

FortiGuard Services

FortiGuard Services for FortiGate-VM enable you to implement critical security controls and threat remediation within your virtual infrastructure, providing protection for north-south and east-west virtual traffic. 

FG Application Control

Application Control

Improve security and meet compliance with easy enforcement of your acceptable use policy through unmatched, real-time visibility into the applications your users are running. With FortiGuard Application Control, you can quickly create policies to allow, deny, or restrict access to applications or entire categories of applications.

FG Web Filtering

Web Filtering

Protects your organization by blocking access to malicious, hacked, or inappropriate websites.

Icon cloudsandbox

FortiSandbox Cloud

FortiSandbox Cloud Service is an advanced threat detection solution that performs dynamic analysis to identify previously unknown malware. Actionable intelligence generated by FortiSandbox Cloud is fed back into preventive controls within your network—disarming the threat.

FG Antivirus

Antivirus

FortiGuard Antivirus protects against the latest viruses, spyware, and other content-level threats. It uses industry-leading advanced detection engines to prevent both new and evolving threats from gaining a foothold inside your network and accessing its invaluable content.

Credential Stuffing Defense Icon

Content Disarm & Reconstruction

Content Disarm & Reconstruction (CDR) strips all active content from files in real-time, creating a flat sanitized file. All active content is treated as suspect and removed. CDR processes all incoming files, deconstructs them, and removes all elements that do not match firewall policies.

FG Intrusion Prevention

Intrusion Prevention

FortiGuard IPS protects against the latest network intrusions by detecting and blocking threats before they reach network devices.

Security Rating Service icon

Security Rating

Security Audit Update Service is intended to guide customers to design, implement and continually maintain the target Security Fabric security posture suited for their organization. The Security Fabric is fundamentally built on security best practices and by running these audit checks, security teams will be able to identify critical vulnerabilities and configuration weaknesses in their Security Fabric setup, and implement best practice recommendations.

icon product menu cloud access security broker

FortiCASB

FortiCASB is a cloud-native Cloud Access Security Broker (CASB) subscription service that is designed to provide visibility, compliance, data security, and threat protection for cloud-based services being used by an organization. With support for major SaaS service providers, FortiCASB provides insights into users, behaviors, and data stored in the cloud with comprehensive reporting tools.

FG AntiBotnet

IP Reputation & Anti-botnet Security

The FortiGuard IP Reputation Service aggregates malicious source IP data from the Fortinet distributed network of threat sensors, CERTs, MITRE, cooperative competitors, and other global sources that collaborate to provide up-to-date threat intelligence about hostile sources. Near real-time intelligence from distributed network gateways combined with world-class research from FortiGuard Labs helps organizations stay safer and proactively block attacks.

FG Mobile Security

Mobile Security

Fortinet’s Mobile Security Service provides effective protection against the latest threats targeting mobile devices. It employs industry-leading advanced detection engines to prevent both new and evolving threats from gaining a foothold inside your network and gaining access to its invaluable information.

Industrial Control systems icon

Industrial Control Systems

The FortiGuard Industrial Security Service continuously updates signatures to identify and police most of the common ICS/SCADA (supervisory control and data acquisition) protocols for granular visibility and control. Additional vulnerability protection is provided for applications and devices from the major ICS manufacturers.

FG AntiSpam

Antispam

FortiGuard Antispam provides a comprehensive and multi-layered approach to detect and filter spam processed by organizations. Dual-pass detection technology can dramatically reduce spam volume at the perimeter, giving you unmatched control of email attacks and infections.

 

FortiGuard Service Bundles for FortiGate

Enterprise Protection Bundle
Protection to address today's advanced threat landscape. It delivers all FortiGuard security services available for the FortiGate including: NGFW Application Control and IPS, Web Filtering, FortiCloud Sandbox, Antivirus, Mobile Security, IP Reputation & Antibotnet, Antispam, and core FortiCare security services with a choice of 8x5 or 24x7 support.

UTM Protection Bundle
Traditional UTM security services including NGFW Application Control and IPS, Web Filtering, Antivirus, Antispam, and core FortiCare security services with a choice of 8x5 or 24x7 support

Threat Protection Bundle 
Core protection technologies including: Application Control, IPS, AV, Botnet IP/Domain and Mobile Malware Service. FortiCare security services include 24x7 support. 

Product Demo

product demo fortigate vm

FortiGate-VM Demo

FortiGate-VM is a full-featured FortiGate packaged as a virtual appliance. FortiGate-VM virtual appliance is ideal for monitoring and enforcing virtual traffic on leading virtualization, cloud, and SDN platforms including VMware vSphere, Hyper-V, Xen, KVM, and AWS. FortiGate-VM can be orchestrated in software-defined environments to provide agile and elastic network security services to virtual workloads. Through this demo, you can see how to deploy firewall, intrusion prevention, VPN, antivirus, and other consolidated security functions to virtual workloads, as well as evaluate the easy-to-use web interface and contextual displays.

Access the demo

SDN and Private Cloud Ecosystem

ADVA Optical Networking
ADVA Optical Networking

At ADVA Optical Networking, we're creating a new vision for a more connected world. Our award-winning network functions virtualization (NFV) solutions provide our customers with unprecedented choice and flexibility. Our ADVA Ensemble solution suite provides a comprehensive NFV architecture that includes programmable hardware, comprehensive software and end-to-end orchestration solutions.

Solution brief

Cisco
Cisco

Cisco is the worldwide leader in IT that helps companies seize the opportunities of tomorrow by proving that amazing things can happen when you connect the previously unconnected.

Cloudify
Cloudify

Cloudify specializes in IT operations automation technology that manages application and network services through open orchestration. The company’s award-winning Cloudify software enhances the velocity and reliability of software deployment, lifecycle management and network functions in cloud-native environments.

Solution brief

Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Hewlett Packard Enterprise

Hewlett Packard Enterprise is an industry-leading technology company that enables customers to go further, faster. With the industry’s most comprehensive portfolio, HPE's technology and services help customers around the world make IT more efficient, more productive, and more secure.

Nuage Networks
Nuage Networks

Nuage Networks, a Nokia Corp subsidiary, brings a unique combination of groundbreaking technologies and unmatched networking expertise to the enterprise and telecommunications industries.

Solution brief

VMware
VMware

VMware is a global leader in cloud infrastructure and business mobility.

Alliance solutions leverage the following to integrate with the Fortinet Security Fabric:

Fabric AI Icon

APIs (Application Programming Interfaces).

DevOps Icon

DevOps scripts and tools.

Fabric Connector Icon

Fabric Connectors.

FAQs

How is FortiGate-VM different from the physical FortiGate firewall?

FortiGate-VM is the award-winning physical FortiGate packaged as a virtual appliance.  FortiGate-VM delivers the same FortiOS and FortiGuard real time threat intelligence as the hardware models, in a virtual form factor.  FortiGate-VM offers flexible licensing and provisioning for virtual network deployments. 

What are some advantages of FortiGate virtual appliance compared to other industry solutions?

Fortinet is a market leader in virtual and physical security.  Some standout capabilities include:

  • Leader in Gartner 2017 Magic Quadrant for Enterprise Firewalls. 
  • Delivers many network and security services as virtual appliances. 
  • Integrated with Security Fabric to deliver broad, automated protection from IoT to the cloud.   
  • Virtual Domains (VDOMs) provide enhanced multi-tenancy.
  • Highest performance and scalability of any virtual firewall available today. 
  • Industry’s most comprehensive FortiGuard security services.
  • Fabric Connectors provide automated security in hybrid networks.

What are the different types of virtual appliances available from Fortinet?

Fortinet offers many Fabric network and security services as virtual appliances.  In addition to FortiGate-VM, the following virtual appliances are available:

  • FortiManager-VM
  • FortiAnalyzer-VM
  • FortiSIEM-VM
  • FortiWeb-VM
  • FortiMail-VM
  • FortiSandbox-VM

How do VDOMs (virtual domains) enhance multi-tenancy in a FortiGate-VM?

The VDOM capability in FortiGate-VM enables each VM to split its resources and function as multiple, independent firewalls with separate security policies and controls.  This enables provisioning of multiple tenants into a single VM with granular security policies for each VDOM, and lets you take advantage of the economies of scale and lower costs.

How do I select the right FortiGate-VM for my needs?

FortiGate-VM is available on a range of hypervisors, SDN and cloud technology platforms, and in many different vCPU models with a range of performance specifications to meet virtual network deployment needs.  Please refer to the datasheet for more information. 

Can I test drive the FortiGate-VM?

Yes you can.  we suggest going through the FortiGate-VM demo to see the rich capabilities of FortiGate virtual NGFW, and how to deploy firewall, intrusion prevention, VPN, antivirus, and apply other consolidated security functions to virtual workloads, and experience the easy-to-use web interface and contextual displays.  To download the FortiGate-VM free trial please contact your local Fortinet sales representative.