Network Security Expert Program (NSE)

Become a Fortinet Network Security Expert


The Fortinet Network Security Expert (NSE) is an eight-level certification program designed for technical professionals interested in independent validation of their network security skills and experience. The program includes a wide range of self-paced and instructor-led courses, as well as practical, experiential exercises that demonstrate mastery of complex network security concepts.

The NSE Program enables participants to make the most of the power of Fortinet’s network security platform and be recognized in the industry among an elite group of security professionals.

NSE certification will help candidates:

  • Validate their network security skills and experience.
  • Demonstrate value to current and future employers.
  • Leverage Fortinet’s full range of network security products, consolidate solutions, and reduce risks.
  • As a partner, accelerate sales and offer new services.

To earn certification at each of the levels, candidates must pass a series of tests or an exam. For NSE 1-3, the tests are incorporated into the self-paced learning packages that are hosted in the NSE Institute. A third-party vendor, Pearson VUE, proctors the exams for NSE 4-8. Candidates can register for these exams online. To become NSE 8 certified, candidates must pass the written exam hosted by Pearson VUE, plus a practical exam hosted by Fortinet.

The program is open to Fortinet customers, partners, employees and to students enrolled in the Fortinet Network Security Academy (FNSA).    

Successful completion of the NSE Program involves meeting the following objectives for each level. Click on a level name to get more information about how to certify at that level.

Step Level Objective
NSE 1 Develop a foundational understanding of the Threat Landscape and perspectives from key executive roles.  Also learn how individuals can be safer on the Internet with Personal Security Awareness.    
NSE 2 Develop the knowledge about Fortinet Security Fabric solutions required to address the threat landscape and security concerns discussed in NSE 1.  
NSE 3 Develop the skills to describe how the features of key Fortinet products are used to create the solutions discussed in the NSE 2.    
NSE 4 Develop the knowledge to manage the day-to-day configuration, monitoring, and operation of FortiGate devices to support corporate network security policies. 
NSE 5 Develop a detailed understanding of how to implement network security management and analytics.
NSE 6 Develop an understanding of the fabric products that augment FortiGate to provide deeper and more comprehensive network security.
NSE 7 Develop the knowledge to integrate Fortinet products to deploy and administer network security solutions.
NSE 8 Demonstrate the ability to design, configure, install, and troubleshoot a comprehensive network security solution in a live environment.

For more information, please visit the FAQ page.